If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: BCD17520
  • UPC: 5397102175206
  • Street Date: 05/08/20
  • PreBook Date: 03/06/20
  • Label: Bear Family Records »
  • Genre: R & B
  • Run Time: 77:25 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Dinah Washington - A Rockin' Good Way: Juke Box Pearls

1-CD Digipak with 36-page booklet, 29 tracks, total playing time approx. 77:25 minutes

Dinah Washington - A Rockin
  • List Price: $18.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $14.24
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

-Dinah Washington was not only called 'The Queen', she simply was 'The Queen'.

-Her incredibly powerful voice, which is unparalleled, obliges us to include her in the 'Juke Box Pearls' series!

-With a total of 29 sound clips dating from 1947-1962 we show the complete stylistic range of this great artist!

-On this very personal selection - mostly up-tempo numbers and brilliantly arranged pop - you will find rarities and greatest hits.

-Among them her smash hits What A Diff'rence A Day Made (she sang makes instead of made), September In The Rain, Mad About The Boy as well as the two duets with Brook Benton: A Rockin' Good Way and Baby (You Got What It Takes)!

-Rarities such as the hard-to-find Mercury single Honky Tonky, which was released in 1958 under the pseudonym 'The Queen', are also included.

-With this 'Juke Box Pearls' edition of the great Dinah Washington we are erecting a small but fine memorial.

-The 36-page color booklet contains her biography, written by the famous Chicago music journalist Bill Dahl, as well as many photos and memorabilia, some of them rare!

A review of Dinah Washington's career:

This compilation of 29 songs does not follow a chronological order, but it outlines the great career of the artist, who died far too early. It is impressive how her voice has developed over the course of two decades, from the jazz-soaked Rhythm & Blues of the late 1940s and early 1950s, when Dinah Washington was just one singer among many, to the great monumental pop arrangements and jazz standards of the later years with an enormous flexibility of her incredible voice.

Track Listing

  • A Rockin' Good Way
  • Is You Is Or Is You Ain't My Baby
  • Baby, Get Lost
  • New Blowtop Blues
  • A Bad Case Of The Blues
  • Such A Night
  • T.V. Is The Thing (This Year)
  • Trouble In Mind
  • A Sunday Kind Of Love
  • Bad Luck
  • Honky Tonk
  • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • What A Diff'rence A Day Makes
  • Baby, You've Got What It Takes
  • Come On Home
  • Early Every Morning
  • Cry Me A River
  • I'm Thru With Love
  • Everybody Loves Somebody
  • I Don't Hurt Anymore
  • Mean And Evil Blues
  • Lingering
  • Ask A Woman Who Knows
  • Relax Max
  • September In The Rain
  • Mad About The Boy
  • Time After Time
  • The Song Is Ended
  • Unforgettable

This page was created in 0.13878893852234 seconds