If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: EN4CD9008
  • UPC: 823564629926
  • Street Date: 05/07/13
  • PreBook Date: 04/02/13
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 309 mins
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2013
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: US CA
  • Language:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Modern Jazz Quartet - Golden Age: Complete Atlantic Recordings 1956 - 1960

8 complete MJQ albums across 4 discs. Over 5 hours of some of the finest Jazz music ever recorded!

Modern Jazz Quartet - Golden Age: Complete Atlantic Recordings 1956 - 1960
  • List Price: $14.95  
  • Your Price: $11.21
  • In Stock: YES
  • Quantity:

Pianist John Lewis, vibraphonist Milt Jackson, bassist Ray Brown and drummer Kenny Clarke first came together in 1946 as the rhythm section for Dizzy Gillespie's Orchestra and they had occasional features that gave the overworked brass players a well-deserved rest. They next came together in 1951, recording as the Milt Jackson Quartet. In 1952, with Percy Heath taking Brown's place, the Modern Jazz Quartet became a permanent group. In the early days Jackson and Lewis both were equally responsible for the group's musical direction but the pianist eventually took over as musical director. The MJQ has long displayed John Lewis' musical vision, making jazz seem respectable by occasionally interacting with classical ensembles and playing concerts at prestigious venues, but always leaving plenty of space for bluesy and swinging improvising. Their repertoire, in addition to including veteran bop and swing pieces, introduced such originals as Lewis' "Django" and Jackson's "Bags' Groove." The group recorded for Prestige, Atlantic, Verve, United Artists and were even snapped up by The Beatles' Apple imprint in 1967. In addition to the many quartet outings, they welcomed such guests as Jimmy Giuffre, Sonny Rollins, singer Diahann Carroll, Laurindo Almeida and the Swingle Singers. Although the musicians all had opportunities to pursue individual projects, in 1974 Milt Jackson, tired of the constant touring and the limitations set on his improvising, quit the group, causing The MJQ to play a final tour and break up. In 1981 Jackson relented and the Modern Jazz Quartet became active again, albeit on a more ad-hoc basis. Connie Kay's health began to fade in the early '90s and after his death in 1995, Albert "Tootie" Heath became his replacement. This 4 CD collection captures MJQ's complete output for the Atlantic label from their inception through to the end of 1960 - for many, nay most, the golden era of the mighty Modern Jazz Quartet's sublime and extraordinary music.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Versailles
  • Angel Eyes
  • Fontessa
  • Over the Rainbow
  • Bluesology
  • Willow Weep For Me
  • Woody 'n' You
  • Oh Bess, Oh Where's My Bess?
  • A Fugue for Music Inn
  • Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West
  • Serenade
  • Fun
  • Sun Dance
  • The Man That Got Away
  • A Morning in Paris
  • Variation No. 1 on `God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen'
  • Disc 2:
    • Medley: Stardust / I Can't Get Started / Lover Man
    • Yardbird Suite
    • Midsommer
    • Festival Sketch
    • Bags' Groove
    • Night in Tunisia
    • The Golden Striker
    • One Never Knows
    • The Rose
    • Cortege
    • Venice
    • Three Windows
    • Disc 3:
      • Medley: They say Its Wonderful / How Deep Is The Ocean / I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance with You / My Old Flame / Body and Soul
      • Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
      • La Ronde: Drums
      • Night in Tunisia
      • Yesterdays
      • Bags' Groove
      • Baden-Baden
      • endome
      • Pyramid
      • It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
      • Django
      • How High the Moon
      • Romaine
      • Disc 4:
        • Da Capo
        • Fine
        • Exposure
        • Sketch
        • Conversation
        • Around the Blues
        • Divertimento
        • England's Carol
        • Concertino for Jazz Quartet & Orchestra: First Movement
        • Concertino for Jazz Quartet & Orchestra: Second Movement - Passacaglia
        • Concertino for Jazz Quartet & Orchestra: Third Movement

This page was created in 0.20197796821594 seconds