If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: BCD17139
  • UPC: 4000127171399
  • Street Date: 11/15/11
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Bear Family Records »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 80 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2011
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Chuck Berry - Rocks

1-CD-Album DigiPac with 52-page booklet, 32 tracks. Playing time approx. 80 mns

Chuck Berry - Rocks
  • List Price: $20.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $15.74
  • In Stock: 12
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

From the rockabilly flavoured Maybellene to the adrenalin rush of Dear Dad (both about automobiles!) this formidable collection spans ten years and over 20 Hot Hundred Hits. They're all here. All his greatest songs. This is a non-stop hymn to the USA; a crash course chronicle of high school hops, teen romance and rock 'n' roll cartography. Hear the most imitated electric guitar licks of all time; driving riffs which separate Chuck Berry music from the jump blues of his predecessors. 'Every guitarist I auditioned would have to play 'Johnny B. Goode'' (Ronnie Hawkins). Chuck Berry is an enigmatic man. Charming one minute and cold the next. But this hit-packed compilation is red-hot from start to finish. 'Why should I write songs Chuck Berry wrote them all' (George Thorogood).

Bear Family's 'Rocks' series finally gets to anthologise the most influential rock 'n' roll musician this side of Elvis. It was, it's been said, Chuck Berry who started it all and, in truth, his influence is incalculable and deeply felt especially by the Beatles and the Rolling Stones. As John Lennon once put it, if you wanted to give rock 'n' roll another name, you might call it 'Chuck Berry'; Jagger and Richards are said to have met when Richards clocked a Chuck Berry album under Jagger's arm.

No other songwriter has articulated the demands of the consumer society so vividly nor understood the feelings and frustrations of youth so perfectly (yet, remarkably, he was 31 when Sweet Little Sixteen was released). Chuck Berry wrote unforgettable playlets about automobile gadgetry, wayward women, classroom repression and rock 'n' roll itself. Each of these 32 tracks is a monument to his trademark guitar, the vibrant economy of his lyrics and the unifying, uplifting and enduring power of a catalogue which provided the biggest single stimulus for the '60s R&B revival, the Merseybeat explosion and the British Invasion.
Hail! Hail! Rock'n'Roll!

Track Listing

  • Maybellene
  • Thirty Days (To Come Back Home)
  • You Can't Catch Me
  • No Money Down
  • Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  • Roll Over Beethoven
  • Too Much Monkey Business
  • School Day (Ring! Ring! Goes The Bell)
  • Rock And Roll Music
  • Oh Baby Doll
  • Sweet Little Sixteen
  • Reelin' And Rocking
  • Johnny B. Goode
  • Around & Around
  • Beautiful Delilah
  • Carol
  • Memphis, Tennessee
  • Sweet Little Rock And Roller
  • Run Rudolph Run
  • Little Queenie
  • Almost Grown
  • Back In The U.S.A.
  • Betty Jean
  • Let It Rock
  • Bye Bye Johnny
  • Jaguar And Thunderbird
  • Go-Go-Go
  • Nadine (Is It You')
  • You Never Can Tell
  • Promised Land
  • No Particular Place To Go
  • Dear Dad

This page was created in 0.13201308250427 seconds