If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: BREDD703
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 5013929170315
  • Street Date: 04/22/17
  • PreBook Date: 03/18/17
  • Label: Cherry Red »
  • Genre: Electronic/DJ/Scratch
  • Run Time: 80 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2017
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: US
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Close To The Noise Floor: Formative UK Electronica 1975-1983

22 track history of the origins of electronica in the UK

Image not available
  • List Price: $36.99  
  • Your Price: $36.99
  • In Stock: [{"available":"0"}]
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Following last year's brilliantly received 4CD set exploring the origins of electronica in the UK, we present this 2LP edition featuring key tracks specifically selected for their suitability to vinyl listening. Enthralled by the mysterious electronics of Pink Floyd, Hawkwind, Gong and German Kosmische artists, and inspired by the DIY ethos of punk, a quiet revolution took place across the UK in the late 1970s and early 1980s. The rise of the microchip and the advent of affordable synthesisers liberated countless artists for whom guitars, drums and bass had become old hat, and in grubby bedsits, unremarkable living rooms and art school halls across Britain, UK electronica was born. The underground, fuelled by cassette exchanges, co-operative vinyl compilations and a thriving mail order network, quickly began to stretch the boundaries of sonic experimentation. Close To The Noise Floor explores every corner of this fascinating and often overlooked chapter in UK musical history. Entirely free from safety pins and hair dye, but always experimental, explorative, unusual and thrilling, this is the story of a mild-mannered, post-punk revolution long under appreciated. And who better to tell this story than the artists themselves. Close To The Noise Floor features artist written sleevenotes, extracts from Dave Henderson's legendary 1983 Wild Planet overview of the entire scene and an introductory essay from Mr Henderson himself.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Five Times Of Dust - Computer Bank
  • O Yuki Conjugate - Disco Song
  • The Klingons - R.A.M.
  • Instant Automatons - New Muzak
  • Cultural Amnesia - Materialistic Man
  • Blah Blah Blah - In The Army
  • 100% Manmade Fibre - Green For Go
  • We Be Echo - Sexuality
  • Legendary Pink Dots - God Speed
  • Muslimgauze - Muslin Gauze Muslim Prayer
  • Disc 2:
    • Storm Bugs - Himeal (And She Blew)
    • Colin Potter - I Am Your Shadow
    • Portion Control - Go For The Throat
    • Those Little Aliens - Sentimental
    • John Foxx - A New Kind Of Man (Alternative Version)
    • Bourbonese Qualk - God With Us
    • British Standard Unit - D'ya Think I'm Sexy'
    • Final Program - Protect And Survive
    • Sea Of Wires - Robot Dance
    • Malcolm Brown - Sedation Strokes
    • Konstruktivist - Western Vein
    • Zorch - Adrenalin (Return Of The Elohim Pt 1)

Sales Points

  • Highlights of 2016’s critically acclaimed 4CD release
  • Gatefold sleeve with artist sleevenotes and original essay by Dave Henderson

This page was created in 0.12296319007874 seconds