If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: DVD
  • SKU: EDGE57D
  • UPC: 820680105792
  • Street Date: 03/10/09
  • PreBook Date: 02/03/09
  • Label: Screen Edge »
  • Genre: Documentary
  • Run Time: 52 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2008
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Cast & Crew

  • Producer: Mike Wallington
  • Producers: Mike Wallington


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Paul Robeson - Songs Of Freedom: A Documentary

Documentary threads his songs and political rallies and speeches in a way that throws light on 50 years of black activism in America.

Paul Robeson - Songs Of Freedom: A Documentary
  • List Price: $14.95  
  • Your Price: $11.96
  • In Stock: -6
  • Quantity:

Songs Of Freedom is a showcase for the great voice of Paul Robeson. It exposes the desperate attempts of the FBI and other secret services in America to stop his playing and to discredit him. It reveals that his actual life was in danger as long as he continued along the path of international socialism. Robeson never compromised and it put an end to his domestic career. Abroad, he was a hero.

Track Listing

  • John Brown'S Body
  • Motherless Child
  • Scandalize My Name
  • Joe Hill
  • Volga Boat Song
  • When I Get Home
  • Goin Home

Sales Points

  • He was invited to Moscow by the great film-maker Eisenstein to work on a biopic of the Haitian rebel leader Toussaint L'Ouverture.
  • His career begins in England in 1927 and is influenced by a chance meeting with Jomo Kenyatta on the set of the film, Sanders Of The River. He drew attention to the African roots of gospel music and spirituals in his repertoire.

This page was created in 0.11887693405151 seconds