If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 5013145207239
  • Street Date: 04/21/18
  • PreBook Date: 03/17/18
  • Label: Jungle Records »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 56 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 1973
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Flamin' Groovies - Grease

Collection of singles and EPs released on the Skydog label 1973 to 1981, in limited, transparent VIOLET VINYL 2xLP.

Image not available
  • List Price: $34.99  
  • Your Price: $34.99
  • In Stock: -4
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Collection of singles and sessions released on and recorded for the Skydog label between 1973 and 1981, in limited BLUE vinyl. Gatefold sleeve, remastered. Limited edition coloured vinyl tbc.



One of America's greatest, most influential, and legendary cult bands, who came out of the San Francisco area in 1965. They were part of the flower-power scene but their music, 3-minute power-pop blasts, wasn't. Despite playing the wrong kind of music at the wrong time, and not looking the part by sporting British Invasion mop-top haircuts, they played great greasy, bluesy rock'n'roll music which has sustained a career for three decades. Their 1968 self-produced 'Supersnazz' was snapped up by Epic, then the classic albums 'Flamingo' ('70), and 'Teenage Head' ('71) appeared on Kama Sutra.

In 1973, after a UK single on UA, they issued the launch single 'Grease' for SKYDOG RECORDS, run by Parisian Marc Zermati from his Open Market record shop. Followed up by 'More Grease' in '74 and a third Skydog single in '77, the punk era then brought a new appreciative audience and a hit on Sire, the classic 'Shake Some Action'. Later, a further final Skydog project came in 1981, when they recorded at Phil Spector's Gold Star Studios, remaking 'River Deep Mountain High' in the same room as Ike & Tina's original.

This singles collection, mostly taken from their early 70's heyday, is packaged with original 'Grease' artwork by comix artist Vidal. The double-LP comes in a gatefold sleeve, with notes by Skydog's Marc Zermati. It also features previously unseen 1970's colour photos discovered in the Skydog archives.

The album has been remastered, and with some tracks produced by Dave Edmunds at Rockfield Studios and others recorded at Spector's Gold Star Studios, 'Grease' is a mix of Groovie originals and classic pop covers and a unique spotlight into this period in their lengthy career.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • River Deep Mountain High
  • So Much In Love
  • And Your Bird Can Sing
  • She Don't Care About Time
  • Do I Love You
  • Sweet Little Rock'n'Roller
  • Slow Death
  • Let Me Rock
  • Disc 2:
    • Dog Meat
    • Jumping Jack Flash
    • Blues for Phyllis
    • I Can't Explain
    • Little Queenie
    • Feel A Whole Lot Better
    • Paint It Black
    • Shake Some Action

Bonus Materials

  • Gatefold sleeve with extensive notes

Sales Points

  • Limited Edition transparent violet vinyl.
  • Remastered

This page was created in 0.097388029098511 seconds