If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: DVD
  • SKU: CHF-F1060LF
  • UPC: 5060117600963
  • Street Date: 12/08/09
  • PreBook Date: 11/03/09
  • Label: Charly »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 77 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2009
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Phil Spector - Da Doo Ron Ron: Story Of Phil Spector

Illuminating documentary sheds new light on this troubled genius.

Phil Spector - Da Doo Ron Ron: Story Of Phil Spector
  • List Price: $19.95  
  • Your Price: $19.95
  • In Stock: [{"available":"0"}]
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Made in 1983, 'Da Doo Ron Ron' is an engrossing feature-length documentary chronicling Phil Spector's fascinating career in popular music. It begins with his first hit - as a member of The Teddy Bears, when their smash hit, 'To Know Him Is To Love Him', topped the U.S. charts in 1958. From there it then traces chronologically his music career - from his early productions for the Atlantic label, his heyday days in the Sixties when he introduced the world to his ground-breaking 'Wall Of Sound' on his own Philles label, through to his comeback in the Seventies and the re-launch of his record label. Spector's story is told in a series of fascinating, in-depth interviews with those he knew and worked with over the years, several of whom bring up the darker and ruthless side of his character. They include composers Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller and Jeff Barry , business associates and fellow producers such as Atlantic Records boss Ahmet Ertegun, his former business partner Lester Sill, Sonny Bono, Nino Tempo and 'Bumps' Blackwell, as well as the controversial writer/critic Albert Goldmann. Elsewhere, musicians, engineers and the artists themselves, such as Darlene Love of The Crystals, former wife Ronnie Spector of The Ronettes and The Ramones, recall their experiences, sometimes harrowing, with Spector, both inside and outside the recording studios. These compelling interviews are interspersed throughout with prime examples of Spector's glorious 'Wall of Sound' music - what he called "little symphonies for the kids". They include marvelous footage of The Ronettes, Crystals, The Righteous Brothers and The Ramones performing their hits on TV shows of the time and on film.

Track Listing

  • Da Doo Ron Ron
  • Baby, I Love You
  • Be My Baby
  • Rock 'N' Roll High School
  • Walking In The Rain
  • River Deep Mountain High
  • When I Saw You
  • Dance The Screw (Pt.1)
  • This Could Be The Night
  • Da Doo Ron Ron
  • To Know Him Is To Love Him
  • Spanish Harlem
  • Corrine Corrina
  • He's A Rebel
  • Be My Baby
  • All Grown Up
  • Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dag
  • White Christmas
  • Woman's Story
  • Please Phil Spector
  • You've Lost That Loving Feeling
  • You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling
  • Be My Baby
  • Then I Kissed Her

Sales Points

  • Spector's recent high profile court trial and jail conviction on manslaughter charges has led to a renewed interest in his quirky personality, his often turbulent lifestyle, as well as his highly-influential recording legacy.
  • Pop svengali Phil Spector is recognized as one of popular music's greatest and most innovative record producers. He produced ground-breaking recordings with some of the biggest names in 20th century popular music, including The Beatles, John Lennon, Dion,
  • His approach to the recording process and the sheer scale of his ambitious rock, pop and soul studio productions have inspired countless record producers over the years, including Brian Wilson of The Beach Boys.

This page was created in 0.097628116607666 seconds