If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: CDCD5090
  • UPC: 823564628820
  • Street Date: 01/29/13
  • PreBook Date: 12/11/12
  • Label: CHROME DREAMS »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 158 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2012
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



25 Best Jazz Tunes Of 1960

Two CD set of the greatest jazz cuts of 1960.

25 Best Jazz Tunes Of 1960
  • List Price: $19.95  
  • Your Price: $19.95
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Following the enormous success of Chrome Dreams' 8 CD set, 'The Best 100 Jazz Tunes Of The 1950s', come the first in a series of follow-on releases, each one focussing on the finest and most groundbreaking Jazz recordings made in each year of the 1960s. The Jazz world had been turned upside down in 1959 when milestone albums form Miles Davis ('Kind of Blue'), Dave Brubeck ('Time Out'), Charlie Mingus ('Mingus Ah Um') and John Coltrane's ('The Shape of Jazz to Come') flooded onto the market place, to the extent that in some quarters it was feared such superlative and pioneering work could not be bettered. But as early as January of the new decade, Coltrane was back with his absolute masterpiece and first all self-composed set 'Giant Steps', a record that both signaled another re-birth for Jazz and the realisation that - while Rock & Roll had by now become a watered down, tepid version of its former self - Jazz was the only contemporary music pushing boundaries and striding ahead. The rest of the year followed in fine form with further classic sets from the likes of Hank Mobley ('Blue Train'), Ornette Coleman ('This Is Our Music'), Miles Davis ('Sketches of Spain'), Cecil Taylor ('The World Of') and so many others. This double CD set collects 25 of the the very best tracks from these classic records and in so doing provides a compilation that no jazz fan should be without. This was the period that Jazz music was at its absolute peak and with perfect re-mastered recordings and a track-list and extensive liner notes by eminent jazz authority Charles Waring, this compilation simply could not have been bettered.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • John Coltrane - Giant Steps
  • Hank Mobley - Remeber
  • Cannonball Adderley Quintet - Sack O Woe
  • Ornette Coleman - Blues Connotation
  • Eric Dolphy - G.W.
  • Joe Harriott - Parallel
  • Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers - Lester Left Town
  • Wes Montgomery - West Coast Blues
  • Duke Jordan - Flight To Jordan
  • Miles Davis (w/ Gil Evans) - The Pan Piper
  • Freddie Hubbard - Open Sesame
  • Bobby Timmons - This Here
  • The Jazztet - Killer Joe
  • Disc 2:
    • Jimmy Heath - Bip "P"
    • Horace Silver Quintet - Strollin'
    • Max Roach - Driva Man
    • George Russell - Waltz From Outer Space
    • Charles Mingus - Original Faubus Fables
    • Randy Weston - Third Movement - Bantu
    • Art Pepper - Diane
    • Sam Jones - So Tired
    • Jimmy Smith - Back At The Chicken Shack
    • Tubby Hayes - Tin Tin Deo
    • Modern Jazz Quartet - Vendome
    • Cecil Taylor - Air

This page was created in 0.14086294174194 seconds