If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CM012121
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 875531019407
  • Street Date: 04/09/21
  • PreBook Date: 03/05/21
  • Label: Cellar Live »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 53:31 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2021
  • Box Lot: 200
  • Territory: WORLD EX JP
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Alyssa Allgood - What Tomorrow Brings

Daring and personal, Alyssa Allgood's What Tomorrow Brings is the vocalist's most sophisticated declaration yet.

Alyssa Allgood - What Tomorrow Brings
  • List Price: $12.99  
  • Your Price: $12.99
  • In Stock: 134
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

On her 3rd studio album, Chicago vocalist Alyssa Allgood wields her instrument with depth, nuance & sophistication. Through refined interpretations of classics and the debut of four stunning originals, What Tomorrow Brings invites listeners on a personal journey of despair, determination and discovery.

Featuring Chicago icons Mike Allemana (guitar), Dennis Carroll (bass) and George Fludas (drums).

Reviewed by Carlo Wolf
Downbeat Magazine
June 2021 issue

Chicago-based Alyssa Allgood's third album casts Allgood's dry, expressive voice in a svelte chamber setting. Guitarist Mike Allemana, bassist Dennis Carroll and drum mer George Fludas are more than accompanists, particularly Allemana, a master of the understated, sin gle-note run.

While Allgood is in her twenties, she sings with a depth beyond her years, particularly on her covers of Abbey Lincoln's "Should've Been" and DinahWashington's signature "This Bitter Earth."

The album starts with a breezy "There Are SuchThings," a tune iden tifiedwith Frank Sinatra that showcases Allemana's economy of style and Allgood's mastery of scat. The mood swings with Carroll's "Enclosure," a love song from an introvert's point of view, while "Memories," one of two Allgood-Carroll collaborations, presents the singer as a cynical woman whose memories "are out of touch and so are you."

An Allemana-Allgood duet on "For All We Know" paves the way for "Passing Glance," a supple Carroll-Allgood effort with Allemana at his densest, Allgood assured and daring.

Track Listing

  • There Are Such Things
  • Enclosure
  • Should've Been
  • Memories
  • This Bitter Earth
  • Mad About The Boy
  • Time Found
  • Bridges
  • Try Your Wings
  • Light Out Of Darkness
  • For All We Know
  • Passing Glance

Sales Points

  • Features some wonderful new compositions by Allgood
  • Pristine sound quailty
  • features an all-star Chicago rhythm section of Michael Allemana - guitar, Dennis Carroll -bass and George Fludas - drums

Press Quotes

A fast-rising Chicago singer... Allgood combines an unpretentious stage manner with a sophisticated jazz sensibility.'

     —Howard Reich, Chicago Tribune

...She is undeniably skillful at what she does. The expressive Chicagoan wears different hats, from scat singer to interpreter of familiar lyrics, to lyricist--and she shines in all of those areas on this outing.'

     —New York City Jazz Record

A fullness of expression found in so few vocalists cut from current cloth...she is quintessential in every regard. She treats the art of wordless singing as it should be--which is to say, as an instrument in its own right.' 5 star review

     —All About Jazz

...this is a real jazz vocal set that capably mixes the old and new and is bottomed by vocals that really cover the jazz waterfront. Hot stuff for hot times.

     —Chris Spectorr, Midwest Record


This page was created in 0.22697710990906 seconds