If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: MIG02742
  • UPC: 885513027429
  • Street Date: 08/05/22
  • PreBook Date: 07/01/22
  • Label: AVAF-Music »
  • Genre: Contemporary Instrumental
  • Run Time: 49:40 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1993
  • Box Lot:
  • Territory: US
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Andreas Vollenweider - Eolian Minstrel

First vocal-album - „classical" Vollenweider-Sound together with the voices of two great American Singer/Songwriters, Eliza Gilkyson and Carly Simon.

Andreas Vollenweider - Eolian Minstrel
  • List Price: $21.99  
  • Your Price: $21.99
  • In Stock: 187
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Almost two years ago, MiG - music started re-releasing Andreas Vollenweider's entire back catalog, with Andreas handling the editing and re-mastering of his life's work himself.

"Eolian Minstrel" was already something special when it was released back in 1993. It was Vollenweider's first vocal album: The "classic" Vollenweider-sound combined with the voices and lyrics of the American singer/songwriters Eliza Gilkyson and Carly Simon.

Andreas Vollenweider himself still feels the addition of the element "singing" as an adventure. What may have irritated some of his fans at that time seems more up-to-date than ever before, as Enya, Moya Brennan and Loreena McKennit prove.

What makes "Eolian Minstrel" a special work of Vollenweider are also the excellent instrumentalists, who with great virtuosity and diversity made the album grow into a true cornucopia of sound.

Besides the friends of primeval times, Walter Keiser (drums), Pedro Haldemann (percussion), Christoph Stiefel (organ), Max Laesser (guitars), new impulses can be heard from Marc Portmann (guitars), Eberhad Hahn (wind instruments), Ernst Stroer (percussion), Sandro Friedrich (ethnic wind instruments), Thomas Fessler (guitars, pipa), Richard Greene (fiddle), Matthieu Michel (trumpet). Eliza Gilkyson shines not only as a great singer and co-lyricist on this album, but also with her instrumental skills on guitar and percussion. For the first time, the long-standing friendship with the legendary American songwriter Carly Simon has also borne fruit musically: the joint song "Private Fires".


Track Listing

  • Song of Isolde
  • Across the Iron River (The Return)
  • Reason Enough (All the King's Men)
  • Eolian Minstrel
  • Jaden Maiden
  • The Secret Shrine of Icarus
  • Harvest
  • The Years in the Forest
  • Desert of Rain
  • Private Fires
  • The Five Sisters
  • Painter's Waltz
  • Leaves of the Great Tree
  • Lake of Time

This page was created in 0.12171196937561 seconds