If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CM012421
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 875531020489
  • Street Date: 11/05/21
  • PreBook Date: 10/01/21
  • Label: Cellar Live »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 66:04 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2021
  • Box Lot: 150
  • Territory: WORLD EX JP
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Anthony Wonsey - Lorrain's Lullabye

Pianist Anthony Wonsey performs a thoughtful & swinging program of beautiful originals & cleverly arranged standards.

Anthony Wonsey - Lorrain
  • List Price: $12.99  
  • Your Price: $12.99
  • In Stock: 152
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

When I think of the phrase "it takes a village to raise a child," I often think of my music training and all of the great musicians and people I have come across throughout the years, starting with the great trumpeter Zilner Randolph, who was Louis Armstrong's musical director in the '40s. I was five years old when I met the master, and the piano lessons he gave me were really life lessons - I just did not realize it at the time. The village raising a child soon grew, and I entered high school, where Reginald Willis became my mentor. Because of this, I won a four-year scholarship to Berklee College of Music. Mulgrew Miller and James Williams as well as my peers and other members of the village became my teachers and mentors. Now, living in New York City since '95, I continue to be inspired in this great city by great musicians and great people. One of those great people is Lorraine Tiezzi, who is a real lover of this Black American art form. This album is about saying thank you to all the people in the village who continue to raise that child. Since the pandemic, it has really humbled me in many ways - this is my way of saying thank you. I bring you Lorraine's lullabies Anthony Wonsey New York City May 2021

Track Listing

  • Sweet Lorraine
  • Giving Rise to Doubt
  • I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  • Little Mouse
  • Blues for Hiroshi
  • It Might As Well Be Spring
  • Blacker Black's Revenge
  • Avo's Blooze
  • Do You Remember Me
  • Melancholy Mind

Sales Points

  • Recorded at the mecca of jazz studios, Rudy Van Gelder'
  • A burning quartet date from 4 of New York's best known musicians, led by a legendary jazz pianist and composer
  • A thoughtful & swinging program of beautiful originals & cleverly arranged standards.

Press Quotes

'... as good a demonstration of blues phrasing as can be heard in jazz'

     —Ben Ratliff, New York Times

'Weiss is an excellent pianist who plays bebop and hard-bop lines with elegance and precision. He has a deft touch and swinging rhythmic sense, with the right dollop of funk and soul'

     — Sid Gribetz, Jazz Times


This page was created in 0.10826992988586 seconds