If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: EMRCD047
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5060263500469
  • Street Date: 11/02/18
  • PreBook Date: 09/28/18
  • Label: Em Records »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Run Time: 60 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



BBC Concert Orchestra - Of Such Ecstatic Sound

BBC Concert Orchestra - Of Such Ecstatic Sound
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: [{"available":"0"}]
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

John Andrew conducts the BBC Concert Orchestra in Cowen's Symphony No.5 and Sherwood's Concerto for Violin and Cello with soloists Rupert Marshall-Luck and Joseph Spooner. Sherwood's Concerto for Violin and Cello was written at the height of his career in Germany, being completed in 1908; evidently influenced in some measure by the Double Concerto of Brahms, the work is, nevertheless, characterised by very different harmonies and textures and a distinctly late Romantic lyricism. Intricately crafted, it displays a dramatic verve in its outer movements that complements the passionate lyricism of the second movement. It is presented on this disc alongside Frederic Cowen's Symphony no.5 - composed at the request of the Cambridge University Musical Society and first performed under Cowen's baton in 1887, it received its first professional performance later that year at a Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Concert. It is a work full of colour, songfulness, energy and drama.


This page was created in 0.2655930519104 seconds