If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: LP78125
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 4049774781254
  • Street Date: 05/19/23
  • PreBook Date: 03/03/23
  • Label: Jazzline »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 60:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Basie All Stars - Live At Fabrik Hamburg 1981

A great live recording on Vinyl & CD on Jazzline!

Basie All Stars - Live At Fabrik Hamburg 1981
  • List Price: $40.99  
  • Your Price: $40.99
  • In Stock: 50
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Already during Basie's lifetime, some of his most loyal followers formed the "All Stars". The alto-saxophonist Marshall Royal, Basie's eternal concertmaster, took the lead in this. (Marshall probably played the same role for Basie as Johnny Hodges did for Duke Ellington. He passed away in 1995). The musicians performing that evening had for many years, some (like Royal) even for decades, co-fathered and influenced the Basie-effect, so important for the history of big bands in swing. Both trumpeters represent the different concepts that were always present side by side in Basie's orchestra: relaxed elegance (represented by Harry Edison, whom the world of jazz called "Sweets" for obvious reasons), and the hands-on severeness of Joe Newman. Besides Royal, who had always been one of the "breathing" jazz saxophonist like Coleman Hawkins or Ben Webster, here at the "Fabrik" the Kansas-City-veteran Buddy Tate and Billy Mitchell, who was more at home in modern bebop, invoke two other aspects of the Basie-universe. Benny Powell rounds out the spectrum of the wind section. As always in Basie's band (and also here) it manifests itself in full-bodied arrangements, and by supporting the soloists in the background. Nat Pierce, the pianist, delicately adapts to Basie's consistent frugality and restraint. Bassist John Heard and drummer Gus Johnson establish the rhythm-dimension of Basie's spell, even without the magician Green.

Track Listing

  • Bluesbird Blues
  • Announcement I
  • Please Send Me Someone To Love
  • Announcement II
  • Shiny Stockings
  • Announcement III
  • Everything Happens To Me
  • This Is All I Ask
  • Announcement IV
  • I'm Confessin' That I Love You
  • Announcement V
  • Little Pony

This page was created in 0.10796093940735 seconds