If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: BEAP001LP
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 634154314265
  • Street Date: 07/07/17
  • PreBook Date: 06/02/17
  • Label: Cadiz Music »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 1 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2017
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 6
  • Territory: US,CA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Beatrix Players - Magnified

New female players on the Prog scene.Progressive rock combines with folk, jazz classical in the band's rich sound.

Beatrix Players - Magnified
  • List Price: $24.99  
  • Your Price: $24.99
  • In Stock: 6
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Beatrix Players are a London-based all-female trio who make florid, adventurous music that operates at the interface between folk, singer-songwriter acoustica, prog and quasi classical baroque chamber pop. There is a light, translucent quality to the music, and yet when it is not being hushed and reverent, it has the attack and thrust, the surging dynamism, of rock. It can be soft and intimate, but it can also be fiery and intense, epic and immense. There are tempestuous passages in their music that you can imagine being delivered by traditional rock instrumentation but it is the very absence of guitars and drums that means that there is nobody out there quite like them. Beatrix Players' music is sung, and largely performed, by Amanda Alvarez (cello), Jess Kennedy (piano, backing vocals) and Amy Birks(lead and backing vocals), with a little help from friends on violin and double-bass. Beatrix Players are getting used to acclaim, and all manner of genre names being ascribed to what they do, from modern folk and baroque exotica to dark classical pop. They have been written about in Prog magazine, but they could easily be featured in Folk Roots or MOJO as well as Classical Music given their chamber music influences which come through in their song structures and arrangements, focused as they are on cello, violin, double-bass and piano. 'People try to fit us in a box, but we don't fit in any box,' says Amanda. 'They struggle with that.'

Track Listing

  • Rushlight
  • Lady Of The Lake
  • Never Again
  • Not For The First Time
  • Molehill
  • What Do You Say
  • Ophelia
  • Walk Away
  • Obey Me
  • Unpolished Pearl
  • High Heel Shoes
  • All That Thinking
  • Roses

This page was created in 0.16009402275085 seconds