If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: EN4CD9066
  • UPC: 823564669526
  • Street Date: 01/15/16
  • PreBook Date: 12/11/15
  • Label: Enlightenment »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 308 mins
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2015
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: US,CA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Ben Webster - Complete Recordings: 1959-1962

The Next Eight Albums - Complete Recordings From Webster's Golden Era

Image not available
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: -1
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

The 1950s saw Webster's career going from strength to strength. As the decade drew to a close, Webster formed a quartet with baritone saxophonist Gerry Mulligan. The album they released together has since been hailed one of the finest albums either artist ever recorded and garnered a five star review in The Rolling Stone Jazz Record Guide. The Webster-Mulligan group would continue to perform regularly, particularly at the Renaissance club in L.A. where they would record a live album with blues singer Jimmy Witherspoon. Webster would go on to record his own live album at the same venue, with a new band of guitarist Jim Hall, Jimmy Rowles on piano, Red Mitchell on bass and drummer Frank Butler. Webster relocated to New York in the early 1960s and released a trio of eclectic albums: the string-laden The Warm Moods in 1961, becoming the first musician besides Frank Sinatra to release an album on the Reprise label, a collaboration with trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison on Ben And Sweets, and once again playing a starring role alongside Jimmy Witherspoon on Roots. Webster found it difficult to secure regular work throughout this period and upon receiving the offer in 1964 of a month's tenure at Ronnie Scott's in London he embarked on what would turn out to be a permanent emigration. Upon his arrival in Europe, his fortunes took an almost immediate upturn and his successful London gig soon lead to week-long residences in Stockholm, Oslo and Copenhagen. Although his health began to decline, his playing did not, and indeed Webster would go on to reunite with Duke Ellington for a number of performances at the Tivoli Gardens as well as recording albums with the Georges Arvanitas and Tete Montoliu trios. He recorded his final album My Man: Live at Montmartre in 1973. Following a performance at Twee Spieghels in Leiden in late 1973, Ben Webster suffered a cerebral hemorrhage and died on 20th September, aged 64.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Chelsea Bridge
  • The Cat Walk
  • Sunday
  • Who's Got Rhythm
  • Tell Me When
  • Go Home
  • The Touch Of Your Lips
  • When Your Lover Has Gone
  • Bye Bye Blackbird
  • How Deep Is The Ocean
  • In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
  • Sunday
  • This Can't Be Love
  • Disc 2:
    • Time's Gettin' Tougher Than Tough
    • How Long
    • Corina, Corina
    • C.C. Rider
    • Roll 'Em Pete
    • Every Day I Have The Blues
    • Outskirts Of Town
    • Kansas City
    • Trouble In Mind
    • St. Louis Blues
    • Caravan
    • Georgia On My Mind
    • Ole Miss Blues
    • Stardust
    • Disc 3:
      • The Sweetheart Of Sigma Chi
      • Stella By Starlight
      • With Every Breath I Take
      • Accent On Youth
      • But Beautiful
      • Time After Time
      • Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
      • I'm Beginning To See The Light
      • It Was So Beautiful
      • The Whiffenpoof Song
      • It's Easy To Remember
      • There's No You
      • Better Go
      • How Long Has This Been Going On
      • Kitty
      • My Romance
      • Did You Call Her Today
      • Embraceable You
      • Disc 4:
        • I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water
        • I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirt of Town
        • Did You Ever
        • Confessin' The Blues
        • Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
        • Your Red Wagon
        • Rain Is Such a Lonesome Sound
        • Cherry Red
        • It's a Low Down Dirty Shame
        • Just a Dream
        • Please Mr. Webster
        • Confirmation
        • Nearness of You
        • Pouting
        • Danny Boy
        • Billy's Bounce
        • Cottontail

This page was created in 0.097094058990479 seconds