If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO20-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026002026
  • Street Date: 06/10/86
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 91 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 1986
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Black Tape For A Blue Girl - The Rope

Timeless blend of Oscar’s passionate vocals and Sam’s warm electronic soundscapes on an album similar to 80’s-era 4AD.

Black Tape For A Blue Girl - The Rope
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 1
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Sam Rosenthal’s subtle electronics and introspective lyrics establish black tape for a blue girl’s stature beyond the realm of the normal “gothic” sound. Creating a timeless blend of Oscar’s emotional vocals intertwined with warm ambient soundscapes.

In 1986, Black Tape For A Blue Girl’s darkly mesmerizing debut The Rope appeared on the underground rock scene. It kicked off a rich and diverse musical career for Projekt founder/Blacktape songwriter Sam Rosenthal. 25 years later, Projekt celebrates this momentous anniversary with The Rope 25, a 2CD set including The Rope re-mastered and a bonus disc of current Projekt artists’ reinterpretations of the material. Rosenthal’s electronics coupled with his angst-filled, introspective lyrics established Black Tape For A Blue Girl’s position beyond the traditional “gothic” sound. His lyrics overflow with the emptiness of a shattered soul and broken heart revealing a dark, tortured man scanning the wreckage in search of love, understanding, and connection. The timeless blend of Oscar Herrera’s passionate vocals intertwining with warm electronic soundscapes and soothing ambient passages creates an album similar to 80’s-era releases on 4AD and Factory Records.

Opening the album is the rhythmic, hard-hitting “Memory Uncaring Friend,” along the lines of Peter Murphy or Gang of Four. Following this striking opener, the music takes a more subtle turn: gently disorienting, autumnal, mesmerizing, mournful, full of wonder and elusive grandeur. Upon The Rope‘s release, comparisons were made to Cocteau Twins, Brian Eno, Phillip Glass and Chris & Cosey.

Star Hits magazine wrote, “Black Tape For A Blue Girl’s The Rope is like the musical equivalent of a nervous breakdown. Complete with dark, scary lyrics that make The Smiths sound like Alvin and the Chipmunks, this might give you an idea of what mental anguish sounds like. It is an experiment worth hearing.”

2CD in EcoWallet.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • memory, uncaring friend
  • hide in yourself
  • within these walls
  • the holy terrors
  • end
  • seven days till sunrise
  • the rope
  • the few remaining threads
  • the lingering flicker
  • slow blur
  • the floor was hard but home
  • we return
  • Disc 2:
    • memory, uncaring friend (2011)
    • the rope
    • the floor was hard but home
    • within these walls
    • hide in yourself
    • lingering (vintage mix)
    • blurred (lo-fi mix)
    • seven days till sunrise
    • the holy terrors
    • end
    • memory, uncaring friend
    • we return

This page was created in 0.16285705566406 seconds