If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO130-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026013022
  • Street Date: 04/23/02
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 51 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2002
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Black Tape For A Blue Girl - The Scavenger Bride

Emotionally intense songs are classic ethereal darkwave BlackTape, includes “All My Lovers.”

Black Tape For A Blue Girl - The Scavenger Bride
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 8
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Black tape for a blue girl is one of the most successful and beloved bands within the ethereal gothic genre while also engaging fans of elegant, artistic music. Their eighth release is a lovingly crafted concept album set in 1913 Prague; and features one of their most popular tracks, “All My Lovers.” Guest appearances from members of Unto Ashes, Audra, Judith, Spahn Ranch and a former member of Rasputina enliven the thirteen bewitching tracks. This album is like nothing you’ve heard before, yet these emotionally intense songs are classic black tape for a blue girl.

Lyricist/songwriter Rosenthal designed the extensively illustrated 24 page booklet of photos, lyrics and stories to enhance his metaphoric tale of a bride and her suitors.

Alternative Press #168 (July 2002): Kafkaesque disc avoids concept-album pitfalls to emerge as a true work of art. | 9 out of 10 | Listening to this albuml is like sitting in a cathedral of mindful gloom, feeling at once melancholy and reassured. Sam Rosenthal continues to be inspired by the art of Marcel Duchamp, while author Franz Kafka serves as muse for this concept album set in 1913 Prague. The title track is a cinematic overture, a portent of the artful blending of goth, ambient and chamber music to follow. Rich, timeless vocals by Elysabeth Grant, Bret Helm, and others breathe dark life into the passionate lyrics, but it’s the instrumental passages-with flute by Lisa Feuer, violin by Vicki Richards, cello by Julia Kent and electronics by Rosenthal-that burrow deep with the greatest poignancy. Comparisons with Dead Can Dance have become tiresome and inaccurate, for what Rosenthal is doing here is more original and singular in its ability to touch the listener both emotionally and intellectually.

CD in jewel box in slip case with 24-page booklet.

Track Listing

  • the scavenger bride
  • kinski
  • all my lovers
  • shadow of a doubt (sonic youth cover)
  • the doorkeeper
  • floats in the updrafts
  • a livery of bachelors
  • das lisalottenbett
  • the lie which refuses to die
  • the scavenger's daughter
  • like a dog / letter to brod
  • the whipper
  • bastille day, 1961

This page was created in 0.095059871673584 seconds