If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: ALBCD012
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5060158190126
  • Street Date: 05/31/11
  • PreBook Date: 04/26/11
  • Label: Albion Records »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Run Time: 40 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2010
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra & Joyful Company Of Singers & Melrose Bevan - The Garden Of Proserpine

The first recording of 'The Garden of Proserpine', Vaughan William's 1899 setting of Swinburne's poem.

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra & Joyful Company Of Singers & Melrose Bevan - The Garden Of Proserpine
  • List Price: $15.99  
  • Your Price: $15.99
  • In Stock: 2
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Vaughan Williams completed The Garden of Proserpine, scored for soprano soloist, chorus and full orchestra, in 1899. For the twenty-something composer, it was a first attempt at a large-scale work. Given that Vaughan Williams had only produced a handful of songs and some chamber pieces by this date, it is an impressive achievement that achieves that combination of radiance and nobility that is characteristic of the composer s later works. In the Fen Country was completed in 1904. The melodic outlines and spirit of folk music are prevalent in this work. Patrick Hadley s Fen and Flood was inspired by the devastating events of the night of January 31, 1953 when a deadly hurricane force wind created a storm tide up to 18 feet above mean sea level. Overall, 2,400 people lost their lives. Vaughan Williams persuaded his friend Hadley to allow him to arrange the work for chorus. The new arrangement was first performed in 1956 and was dedicated to Vaughan Williams. All of the recordings presented here are world premieres.

Press Quotes

'Paul Daniel obtains exemplary results from his combined forces and the sound is outstandingly realistic to match'



This page was created in 0.12305116653442 seconds