If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ZM201904
  • UPC: 880956190426
  • Street Date: 05/10/19
  • PreBook Date: 04/05/19
  • Label: Zoho »
  • Genre: Latin
  • Run Time: 51 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2019
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Carlos Barbosa - Lima - Delicado

A tribute to composers from Rio de Janeiro, by Brazilian acoustic guitarist and arranger Carlos Barbosa-Lima.

Carlos Barbosa - Lima - Delicado
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

From Ipanema beach to Corcovado mountain, the natural beauty of Rio de Janeiro is self-evident. It's almost as if the postcard itself was invented to honor this coastal city, with its lagoons, forests, and tropical climate. But the same could also be said for the album, as this city has birthed musical styles such as bossa nova and samba. Indeed, elements of these musical styles can be traced to Africa, but there is no mistaking that Rio's artistic identity is partly defined by these rich genres.

Rio and its musical traditions are the very grist for this production. Delicado is a tribute and testimony to the music of Rio de Janeiro, this renowned and beloved city. "We wanted to honor the exuberant nature and welcoming spirit of the cariocas," said Carlos Barbosa-Lima, the guitar maestro and leader of this production. So, he with his fellow musical partners selected several compositions that were written by cariocas or by those familiar with Rio. All of the arrangements strive to be faithful to the composer's intent but they also incorporate the personal touch of Barbosa-Lima and his musical partners, as they infuse them with different harmonies and textures to make them their own. And what a band Carlos has gathered: Larry Del Casale (guitar), Duduka da Fonseca (percussion), Nilson Matta (bass), and Helio Alves (piano). Tico Tico by Zèquinha de Abreu (1880-1935) is the name of a migrating bird that came from Portugal to Brazil and settled in the early 1900s. This animal inspired de Abreu to write this exciting tune that became an international hit in the early 1940s. This arrangement is for two guitars and incorporates the choros style with up-tempo chorinho. There is a colorful interlude with terrific and well-placed percussion effects by Duduka Da Fonseca. The title track Delicado, composed by Waldir Azevedo (1923-1980), the Brazilian composer and master of the choro music form.

Kabir Sehgal, GRAMMY and LATIN GRAMMY Winning producer.

Track Listing

  • Tico Tico
  • Delicado
  • Samba de Orfeu
  • A Felicidade
  • Odeon
  • Manhã de Carnaval
  • Interrogando
  • Feitiço da Vila
  • Samba do Avião
  • Sambolero
  • Chovendo na Roseira
  • Prelude to Canto de Ossanha
  • Canto de Ossanha
  • Eu Não Existo Sem Você
  • Tristeza

This page was created in 0.10669994354248 seconds