If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ZM200414
  • UPC: 880956041421
  • Street Date: 09/07/18
  • PreBook Date: 08/03/18
  • Label: Zoho »
  • Genre: Latin
  • Run Time: 67 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2004
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Carlos Barbosa-lima - Siboney

Back by popular demand: re-release of iconic Brazilian guitarist Barbosa-Lima's first ZOHO release "Siboney" from 2004.

Carlos Barbosa-lima - Siboney
  • List Price: $9.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $9.99
  • In Stock: NO
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

This album celebrates the "Golden Age" of Latin popular music from the 1930's through 50's, in acoustic guitar solo and small group arrangements by Carlos Barbosa-Lima, one of the world's leading Latin, Jazz and Classical guitarists. On several tracks, it also contains Carlos' first collaboration with the legendary Jazz bassist Eddie Gomez. The magic of this first recorded collaboration between Carlos Barbosa-Lima and Eddie Gomez is perhaps best exemplified by their irresistible take on the famous Perez Prado original "Mambo # 5" and their high energy, lightning speed take on Zequinha de Abreu's exciting up-tempo Brazilian samba "Tico Tico", both with concentrated, spectacularly virtuosic bass solos by Eddie Gomez. Central composer in this repertoire is undoubtedly Ernesto Lecuona (1895 - 1963), viewed by many as Cuba's greatest bandleader, songwriter, and pianist of the first half of the 20th century. "Siboney" - Lecuona's most frequently played love song, here receives a sensuous, deeply atmospheric workout, accented by soft percussive effects on the guitar. The other Lecuona hit songs on this recording are "Siempre En Mi Corazon", "La Comparsa", Maria La O", "Danza Negra" and "Danza Lucumi", all in masterful, completely idiomatic new solo guitar arrangements by Carlos Barbosa-Lima. Rafael Hernandez (1896 - 1965), Lecuona's contemporary, was the most successful and prolific songwriter of the time from Puerto Rico. His vast influence on the musical life of Mexico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, and his native Puerto Rico cannot be overestimated. Two of his hit songs are included here: "Lamento Borincano"- arguably the single most famous song from a Puerto Rican composer - portrays the loneliness and suffering of the young composer away from his homeland, in a time of racial prejudices in the completely Anglo - dominant society of New York City in the 1920's.

Track Listing

  • Mambo No. 5
  • Drume Negrita
  • Perdido
  • Ojos Brujos
  • Siboney
  • Tico Tico
  • Guantanamera
  • Siempre en mi Corazon
  • La Comparsa
  • Lamento Borincano
  • Bahia
  • Solamente Una Vez
  • El Cumbancherito
  • Aquarelo do Brasil
  • Cachita
  • Maria la O
  • Danza Lucumi
  • Perfidia
  • El Viento
  • Danza Negra

This page was created in 0.15733003616333 seconds