If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ADDCD3254
  • UPC: 824046325428
  • Street Date: 07/06/18
  • PreBook Date: 06/01/18
  • Label: ACROBAT »
  • Genre: Country
  • Run Time: 139 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Chet Atkins - Singles Collection 1946-62

Chet Atkins was one of the most innovative and influential personalities in country music in the post-war decades

Chet Atkins - Singles Collection 1946-62
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Chet Atkins was one of the most innovative and influential personalities in country music in the post-war decades, both as a highly skilled and distinctive finger-picking guitarist, and as a record producer and session musician, helping to shape the "Nashville" sound which helped broaden the popularity of country music in the late '50s. This great-value 59-track 2-CD collection focuses on his work as a recording artist, covering a period over more than a decade and a half during which he progressed from being a journeyman country musician to one of the most respected and imitated guitarists in all of popular music, not just country, with major rock artists later citing him as a key influence. Deriving his style from influences as diverse as Merle Travis and Django Reinhardt, he developed a finger-style technique which set him apart from his peers and gave his music and recordings an increasingly distinctive flavour. This anthology comprises selected A and B sides from the singles he released during the period covered by this collection, so that it provides a fascinating musical journey through the years when his stature within the business inexorably grew, and his work as a performer became overshadowed by his studio work with other artists, and his A&R role at RCA. It naturally offers plenty of examples of his unique skill as a guitarist but also shows the many sides of his talents as singer, bandleader and songwriter, and includes all the country chart entries he had during this time with "Mr. Sandman", "Silver Bell", "Jean's Song", "Boo Boo Stick Beat, "One Mint Julep" and "Jingle Bell Rock".

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Guitar Blues (Pickin' The Blues)
  • Canned Heat
  • Ain'tcha Tired Of Making Me Blue
  • Bug Dance
  • I've Been Working On The Guitar
  • I Know When I'm Blue
  • Dizzy Strings
  • I'm Pickin' The Blues
  • Barnyard Shuffle
  • Nashville Jump
  • Galloping Guitar
  • Barber Shop Rag
  • Telling My Troubles To My Old Guitar
  • Centipede Boogie
  • One More Chance
  • Main Street Breakdown
  • Boogie Man Boogie
  • I Was Bitten By The Same Bug Twice
  • The Birth Of The Blues
  • Indian Love Call
  • You're Always Brand New
  • Mountain Melody
  • The Jitterbug Waltz
  • Crazy Rhythm
  • Hybrid Corn
  • Sweet Bunch Of Daisies
  • Good-Bye Blues
  • Rainbow
  • Disc 2:
    • Spanish Fandango
    • Chinatown, My Chinatown
    • Hangover Blues
    • Lover Come Back To Me
    • Third Man Theme
    • Midnight
    • Rustic Dance
    • Fig Leaf Rag
    • High Rockin' Swing
    • Country Gentleman
    • City Slicker
    • Wildwood Flower
    • Downhill Drag
    • Kentucky Derby
    • San Antonio Rose
    • Mr. Sandman
    • Silver Bell
    • The Poor People Of Paris (Jean's Song)
    • Trambone
    • Tricky
    • Hidden Charms
    • Boo Boo Stick Beat
    • Django's Castle
    • Teensville
    • One Mint Julep
    • Slinkey
    • Theme From "The Dark At The Top Of The Stairs"
    • The Slop
    • Warm And Windy
    • Jingle Bell Rock
    • Melissa

This page was created in 0.13963985443115 seconds