If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: CRD332
  • UPC: 091454033225
  • Street Date: 05/26/06
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Chiaroscuro Records »
  • Genre: Holiday
  • Run Time: 70:45 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1995
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: WORLD


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Chiaroscuro Christmas

This is one of the finest Christmas jazz collections to be released on CD.

Chiaroscuro Christmas
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: NO
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

This is one of the finest Christmas jazz collections to be released on CD. There are 16 selections with a different group of all-stars on each cut, and every one is worth hearing. Pianist Dick Wellstood leads "the Friends of Fats" (who includes former Waller trumpeter Herman Autrey) on a joyous version of "Jingle Bells," trumpeter Bob Barnard is swinging on "Blue Christmas," tenorman Flip Phillips uplifts a medley of "O Come All Ye Faithful" and "Silent Night," Milt Hinton's Survivors jam "Hark the Herald Angels Sing," and Summit Reunion (with clarinetist Kenny Davern and Bob Wilber on soprano) are quite hot on "It Came Upon the Midnight Clear." Other musicians appearing on this very enjoyable set include pianists Earl Hines (who does a solo on "White Christmas"), Mike Jones, Ralph Sutton, Jay McShann, Dave McKenna, Roger Kellaway, Steve Allen, and Junior Mance, the Manhattan Jazz Quintet, and Louis Bellson.

Track Listing

  • Earl Hines - White Christmas
  • Dick Wellstood and The Friends Of Fats - Jingle Bells
  • The Bob Barnard Quartet - Blue Christmas
  • Mike Jones - Frosty The Snowman
  • The Flip Phillips Quartet - O Come, All Ye Faithfull / Silent Night
  • Ralph Sutton ; Jay McShann - Joy To The Jingle
  • Dave McKenna - The Christmas Song
  • Milt Hinton's Survivors - Hark The Herald Angels Sing
  • Roger Kellaway And The Duo - Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
  • The Duo with George Young - God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  • Manhattan Jazz Quintet - Good King Wenceslas
  • Johnny Costa - What Child Is This'
  • The Louie Bellson Quintet - Winter Wonderland
  • The Steve Allen Trio - Jingle Bells
  • Summit Reunion - It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
  • The Junior Mance Trio - White Christmas

This page was created in 0.120285987854 seconds