If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • Format: CD
  • SKU: HB031
  • UPC: 823564030579
  • Street Date: 05/10/19
  • PreBook Date: 04/05/19
  • Label: Hobo »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 81 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1970
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: US,CA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Chicago - A Poem For The People

Classic Live Recording From Chicago's Early Days

Chicago - A Poem For The People
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

The group now known as Chicago began on February 15, 1967, at a meeting involving saxophonist Walter Parazaider, guitarist Terry Kath, drummer Danny Seraphine, trombonist James Pankow, trumpet player Lee Loughnane, and keyboardist/singer Robert Lamm. Kath, Parazaider, and Seraphine had played together previously in two other groups - Jimmy Ford and the Executives, and the Missing Links. While gaining some success as a cover band, the group began working on original songs and invited Peter Cetera to join as bass player. Initially working as The Big Three, in June 1968, the group moved to LA, signed with Columbia Records and changed its name to Chicago Transit Authority. It was while performing on a regular basis at the Whisky a Go Go that the band got exposure to more famous musical artists of the time. Subsequently, they were the opening act for Janis Joplin and Jimi Hendrix. Hendrix once told Parazaider; 'Jeez, your horn players are like one set of lungs and your guitar player is better than me.' Their debut LP sold over one million copies by 1970, and was awarded a platinum disc. For this inaugural recording effort the group was nominated for a Grammy Award for 1969 Best New Artist of the Year. Following its release the band's name was shortened to Chicago to avoid legal action being threatened by the actual mass-transit company of the same name. Regulars at Bill Graham's Fillmore West by now, in 1970, when he needed to replace headliner Joe Cocker, and then Cocker's intended replacement, Jimi Hendrix, Graham booked Chicago to perform at Tanglewood, a venue in Lennox, MA, near Boston, for a show still considered by many fans to be the pinnacle Chicago performance from this era. Released here for the first time, the full show Chicago performed there on 20th July 1970 is featured on this CD in sterling audio quality, recorded as it was for live FM Radio Broadcast, from which this recording is sourced.

Track Listing

  • In The Country
  • Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is
  • 25 Or 6 To 4
  • Poem For The People
  • I Don't Want Your Money
  • Mother
  • It Better End Soon (1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th Movement)
  • Beginnings
  • Ballet For A Girl In Buchannon (Make Me Smile)/So Much To Say, So Much To Give
  • Colour My World
  • Make Me Smile
  • I'm a Man

This page was created in 0.25581097602844 seconds