If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ADDCD3284
  • UPC: 824046328429
  • Street Date: 03/08/19
  • PreBook Date: 02/01/19
  • Label: ACROBAT »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 140 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2019
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Chubby Checker - Collection 1959-62

Chubby came to the fore when he popularised the Twist dance craze in the USA in 1960, making No. 1 with "The Twist

Chubby Checker - Collection 1959-62
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Chubby Checker was one of the many artists to emerge from the burgeoning rock 'n' roll scene in Philadelphia during the 1905, helped by the thriving commercial and creative environment provided by the independent labels which sprang up in the city in those years, and the fact that Dick Clark's "American Bandstand" TV show was based there. Born in 1941, Chubby came to the fore when he popularised the Twist dance craze in the USA in 1960, making No. 1 with "The Twist", eventually resulting in the dance becoming a sensation all round the world when he had a big hit with "Let's Twist Again" the following year. As well as other successful records based round the Twist theme, his producers at the Cameo label ensured that he became the vehicle for introducing a number of other dance crazes with hits like "Pony Time", "The Fly", "Limbo Rock" and "Popeye The Hitchhiker" over the next couple of years. This great-value 60-track 2-CD set comprises the A and B sides of his US and UK singles from his 1959 debut through to the end of 1962, along with selected titles from his several dance-focused albums during these years, "Twist With Chubby Checker", "For Twisters Only", "It's Pony Time", "Let's Twist Again", "For Teen Twisters Only", "Limbo Party" and "Beach Party". It features all his 15 UK and US chart entries from these years, including the No. 1s "The Twist" and "Pony Time", and the Top 5 hits "Let's Twist Again", "Slow Twistin'" and "Limbo Rock". It's set that captures the essence of the dance craze era through the medium of one of its prime movers.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • The Class
  • Schooldays, Oh, Schooldays
  • Samson And Delilah
  • Whole Lotta Laughin'
  • Dancing Dinosaur
  • Those Private Eyes (Keep Watchin' Me)
  • The Twist
  • Toot
  • Twistin' U.S.A.
  • Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On
  • The Hucklebuck
  • Pony Time
  • Oh, Susannah
  • Dance The Mess Around
  • Good, Good Lovin'
  • Let's Twist Again
  • Everything's Gonna Be All Right
  • The Fly
  • That's The Way It Goes
  • Jingle Bell Rock
  • Jingle Bell Imitations
  • La Paloma Twist
  • Slow Twistin'
  • Teach Me To Twist
  • Swinging Together
  • Dancin' Party
  • Gotta Get Myself Together
  • Limbo Rock
  • Popeye
  • The "C. C. Rider" Stroll
  • Disc 2:
    • The Strand
    • The Madison
    • The Slop
    • The Pony
    • Your Feet's Too Big
    • Twist Train
    • Mister Twister
    • But Girls!
    • At The Hop
    • The Watusi
    • The Hully Gully
    • The Stroll
    • The Mashed Potatoes
    • The Jet
    • The Continental Walk
    • Peanut Butter
    • Dance-A-Long
    • The Lose Your Inhibitions Twist
    • Peppermint Twist
    • Twist-A-Long
    • Love Is Like A Twist
    • Dear Lady Twist
    • La La Limbo
    • Mary Ann Limbo
    • Baby, Come Back
    • La Bamba
    • Surf Party
    • Oo-Kook-A-Boo
    • (We're Gone) Surfin'
    • Twist It Up

This page was created in 0.13162517547607 seconds