If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ARJ19206
  • UPC: 780941120622
  • Street Date: 05/10/11
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Arbors Records »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2011
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: WORLD


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Chuck Wilson - Echo Of Spring

Chuck Wilson - Echo Of Spring
  • List Price: $10.99  
  • Your Price: $10.99
  • In Stock: 14
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Some really great music played by a really great saxophonist with some really special musicians including Howard Alden, Murray Wall, Joel Helleny, and Tom Melito.

Reviewed at All Music Guide

Chuck Wilson has worked with a wide range of jazz artists during his long career, especially gaining exposure in the Howard Alden-Dan Barrett Quintet and the big bands of Gerry Mulligan, Benny Goodman, and Buddy Rich. Though he has worked as a leader on gigs, this is his belated recording debut as a leader. Calling upon several old friends for the session including Alden (who contributed the liner notes as well), trombonist Joel Helleny, bassist Murray Wall, and drummer Tom Melito, Wilson's soft-spoken alto sax doesn't dominate the proceedings, but more or less engages his fellow instrumentalists. Wilson's choice of repertoire is wide-ranging, including standards, both timeless and neglected jazz works, plus Brazilian music. Wilson channels alto sax great Johnny Hodges with his performances of two pieces from the vast Duke Ellington/Billy Strayhorn songbook: ''Isfahan'' and ''U.M.M.G. (Upper Manhattan Medical Group),'' both featuring Alden's intricate solos, the latter Helleny's sassy trombone. His choice of two Lee Morgan songs is inspired, the enchanting calypso ''Caliso'' and easygoing hard bop gem ''The Joker.'' He switches to clarinet to play Harlem stride pianist Willie ''The Lion'' Smith's ''Echo of Spring'' (with Alden playing a convincing stride line on his seven-string electric guitar), with guest alto flautist Diva Goodfriend-Koven adding a harmony line. Wilson remains on clarinet for a playful setting of Ornette Coleman's twisted blues ''Turnaround.'' Chuck Wilson's long overdue debut CD should provoke future record dates for the veteran reedman.

Ken Dryden

All Music Guide

Track Listing

  • You and the Night and the Music
  • On a Misty Might
  • Echo of Spring
  • Caliso
  • Caminhos Cruzados
  • Isfahan
  • The Joker
  • Turnaround
  • The Breeze and I
  • The Blessing
  • Upper Manhattan Medical Group
  • Goodbye

This page was created in 0.10119795799255 seconds