If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ADDCD3259
  • UPC: 824046325923
  • Street Date: 08/10/18
  • PreBook Date: 07/06/18
  • Label: ACROBAT »
  • Genre: Adult Contemporary/MOR
  • Run Time: 141 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Classic Songs Of George Gershwin

This is the second in a new Acrobat series devoted to the composers who contributed to the Great American Songbook

Classic Songs Of George Gershwin
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

This is the second in a new Acrobat series which will be devoted to the illustrious composers who made significant contributions to the Great American Songbook - the songs written during the half-century or so from the dawn of the recording era, many from stage musicals or movies, other purely the product of Tin Pan Alley, which provided the core repertoire for many of the finest and most prominent vocalists, big bands and jazz musicians of those and subsequent decades. This great-value 41-track 2-CD collection brings together some of the best-known and most-performed songs and compositions by the great George Gershwin, who despite his tragic premature death from a brain tumour in 1937 at the age of 38, contributed some hugely important works to the popular music canon. The selected songs are presented here broadly in chronological order of their composition, almost all of them coming from stage shows or movies, using recordings from across the years since they were introduced, some by artists who were around to perform the songs when they were first introduced along with others who simply dipped into his rich catalogue of landmark songs for their singles releases or albums. They include many collaborations with his lyricist brother Ira, along with other top lyricists of the era. Their interpretations reflect not only the melodic quality of his songs, but their timeless adaptability. It also includes noted full-length recordings of his ground-breaking orchestral works "Rhapsody In Blue" and "An American In Paris". It's a highly entertaining showcase for the work of one of popular music's most talented and influential practitioners

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Al Jolson - Swanee
  • Eartha Kitt - Do It Again
  • Fred & Adele Astaire with George Gershwin - Fascinating Rhythm
  • Fred Astaire - Oh, Lady Be Good!
  • Eddie Condon & His Orch. Feat. Jack Teagarden - Somebody Loves Me
  • Leonard Bernstein & Columbia Symphony Orch. - Rhapsody In Blue
  • Ella Fitzgerald - Looking For A Boy
  • Wolverine Orchestra - Fidgety Feet
  • Ella Fitzgerald - Maybe
  • Keely Smith - Someone To Watch Over Me
  • Fred & Adele Astaire - Funny Face
  • Julie London - S Wonderful
  • Ella Fitzgerald - Soon
  • Red Nichols & His Orch. - Strike Up The Band
  • Billie Holiday - The Man I Love
  • Peggy Lee with Benny Goodman's Orchestra - How Long Has This Been Going On'
  • Frank Sinatra - I've Got A Crush On You
  • Lee Wiley - But Not For Me
  • Nat King Cole - Embraceable You
  • Adelaide Hall - I Got Rhythm
  • The Knickerbockers with Ben Selvin's Orch. - Of Thee I Sing
  • Disc 2:
    • Lee Wiley - Sam And Delilah
    • Anita O'Day - Who Cares'
    • Sarah Vaughan - Isn't It A Pity'
    • Jo Stafford - Mine
    • Paul Robeson - A Woman Is A Sometime Thing
    • Nina Simone - I Loves You Porgy
    • Lee Wiley - Summertime
    • Aretha Franklin - It Ain't Necessarily So
    • Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong - Bess You Is My Woman
    • Shirley Bassey - A Foggy Day
    • Keely Smith & Louis Prima - Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
    • Ella Fitzgerald - Nice Work If You Can Get It
    • Jimmy Dorsey/Don Matteson - They All Laughed
    • Keely Smith & Louis Prima - They Can't Take That Away From Me
    • Billie Holiday - Things Are Looking Up
    • Victor Symphony Orch - American In Paris
    • Jimmy Dorsey/Bob Eberly - Love Walked In
    • Billie Holiday - Our Love Is Here To Stay
    • Dick Haymes with Judy Garland - For You, For Me, For Evermore

This page was created in 0.13475799560547 seconds