If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CM110620
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 875531020717
  • Street Date: 11/19/21
  • PreBook Date: 10/15/21
  • Label: Cellar Live »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 48:48 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2021
  • Box Lot: 150
  • Territory: WORLD EX JP
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Cory Weeds - With Strings: What Is There To Say?

Expressive tenor saxophonist Cory Weeds navigates a carefully curated set of compositions arranged for 12 strings by award winning arranger Phi Dwyer

Cory Weeds - With Strings: What Is There To Say?
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: 193
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

What a perfect time for Cory to give us this album, What is There To Say?, his 18th record as a leader. It's his most ambitious project to date and, in my opinion, his most impressive. Ever since Charlie Parker recorded his iconic Bird with Strings album, the saxophone-with-strings format has become a sort of Mount Everest for those saxophonists brave enough to take on the challenge. Cory has been climbing to increasingly greater heights for years now and he is clearly ready for this ''Everestine'' expedition. Listening to him interpret this carefully curated set of compositions, we really get to know him for the musician he has become: an expressive saxophonist with a unique and personal voice on his instrument. A visceral strength to his delivery on the tenor, while at times exposing a beautifully honest vulnerability as well.

Cory, as he is known to do, has surrounded himself with only the best company. Phil Dwyer's crafty lush string arrangements inspire Cory to search for new and ever more lyrical melodic lines while also giving him ample space to get lost exploring the nooks and crevasses of the music. Cory has compiled some real musical gems here including the somewhat obscure chestnut 1906 Ballad At Dawning (I Love You) while also contributing an eclectic trio of original compositions to round out an extremely enjoyable musical program.

Track Listing

  • At Dawning
  • Waltz For Someone Special
  • Alana Marie
  • I Wish You Love
  • The Phantom / The In Crowd
  • Love Is Wild
  • What Is There To Say?
  • There's A Boat Leavin' Soon For New York

Sales Points

  • Cory Weeds' 18th record as a leader with an all-star Vancouver quartet
  • Features gorgeous arrangements for quartet + 12 strings by award winning
  • Full US radio campaign by Lisa Reedy of Jazz Promotions Inc.
  • Press and Publicity by Lydia Liebman

Press Quotes

One of the ultimate jazzbo multi taskers of our times, sax man Weeds rounds up a fully loaded string section to augment his combo and pays tribute to the golden age of pre Samba Verve when they were rounding off the druggie edges to make jazz safe for nascent suburban rec rooms. Just missing stepping over the line that would make this dinner music, Weeds and Co. have an excess of the kind of jazz chops it takes to bring this one home. A textbook example of how to do it smooth.

     —Chris Spector, Midwest Record


This page was created in 0.11303997039795 seconds