If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CM051119
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 875531016994
  • Street Date: 06/12/20
  • PreBook Date: 05/08/20
  • Label: Cellar Live »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 58:251 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Box Lot: 150
  • Territory: WORLD EX JP
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Daniel Hersog Jazz Orchestra - Night Devoid Of Stars

A tribute to turbulent times, Hersog's orchestra shines as Carlberg and Preminger render the devastatingly beautiful.

Daniel Hersog Jazz Orchestra - Night Devoid Of Stars
  • List Price: $12.99  
  • Your Price: $12.99
  • In Stock: 11
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Art, especially the big band kind of art I make, draws on history, trends and standards. Tempting though it may seem to cloister oneself in the creative process, artists (myself included) are, first and foremost, humans trying to make sense of the turbulence of these times. This is my way through the social, political, and racial cleavages that came to define 2018. I wrote much of this in what can only be called the hangover of democracy, the groping in the dark that once venerable institutions were doing in 2018. Early in the morning, with the TV bellowing in the background, I got to work--the result is perhaps inadvertently, a political and social commentary If it was accidental, it also feels deeply essential.

One could only ambitiously dream up a maiden voyage like this with a collection of talented friends and mentors. Fred Stride as producer and Frank Carlberg as pianist have shaped my musical output all the while demanding my writing remain a reflection of my own individual voice. Both brilliant composers in their own right, it was their zeal to share knowledge, and their friendship that buoyed me throughout this process. Featured soloist Noah Preminger is a dear friend, and my favorite saxophonist. His bravado, virtuosity, and audacious approach to the mastery of his instrument elevated all of us. Brad Turner has been the light on the hill in my musical life since I was a teenager, featuring his improvisational voice on this record is the realization of a decades long goal. I would like to thank each and every member of this ensemble for lending their unique voice to the realization of my music. The players deftly assimilated the written music, quickly surpassing what was on the page to fully contribute to this musical tapestry.

Track Listing

  • Cloud Break
  • Motion
  • Makeshift Memorial
  • Night Devoid of Stars
  • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • Indelible
  • Song For Henrique

Sales Points

  • 6 newly composed and arranged compositions by Daniel Hersog
  • features renowned saxophonist Noah Preminger and pianist Frank Carlberg
  • debut album for gifted composer and arranger

Press Quotes

The rising Canadian wrote the bulk of this work while getting ready to head out for his teaching job with the morning news on in the back ground. With what's going on in the world, is it any wonder that that work is loaded with optimism while sounding like latter day, white civil rights jazz? Bringing in a pair of hell raising ringers from downtown, this is one of those widely encompassing works that will take you back but is always looking forward. A solid date from a cat you want to hear more from.

     —Chris Spector, Midwest Record review 5/23/2020

Vancouver-based composer Daniel Hersog's debut big band album is largely inspired by his love for jazz orchestrator Gil Evans' work with Miles Davis in large-ensemble settings.

     —Ed Enright, DownBeat


This page was created in 0.15976595878601 seconds