If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ADDCD3253
  • UPC: 824046325329
  • Street Date: 07/20/18
  • PreBook Date: 06/01/18
  • Label: ACROBAT »
  • Genre: Folk
  • Run Time: 142 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Dave Van Ronk - The Dave Van Ronk Collection 1958-62

Dave Van Ronk was one of the key figures in the coffee-house culture of New York's Greenwich Village

Dave Van Ronk - The Dave Van Ronk Collection 1958-62
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Dave Van Ronk was one of the key figures in the coffee-house culture of New York's Greenwich Village during the late '50s and early '60s, both as a folk-blues artist in his own right and as a friend, mentor, and general mover and shaker, helping particularly in the early career of Bob Dylan. As a guitarist and singer, Van Ronk's repertoire covered the gamut of traditional American folk and blues music, encompassing ragtime, skiffle, jug band music, New Orleans jazz, and swing as he helped popularise folk music in the changing musical environment of the post rock 'n' roll era. This great value 47-track 2-CD collection comprises recordings from the first five years of his recording career as he established himself at the core of New York's vibrant folk scene. It includes titles from one of his first recording projects, a 1958 album on the obscure Lyrichord label with the The Orange Blossom Jug Five called "Skiffle In Stereo", plus the complete content of his first three solo albums as a folk-blues artist for the Folkways and Prestige labels - "Dave Van Ronk Sings Ballads, Blues, and a Spiritual", "Dave Van Ronk Sings" and "Dave Van Ronk, Folksinger". It provides a thorough introduction to his early years, giving a fine insight into the repertoire which he and his peers saw as the core of the Americana tradition, and amply demonstrates why he became a much loved and respected personality within the folk community over the years.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Just Because
  • You Gotta Like It
  • Trouble In Mind
  • Take Your Fingers Off It
  • Voice Of A Porkchop
  • Duncan And Brady
  • Black Mountain Blues
  • In The Pines
  • My Baby's So Sweet
  • Twelve Gates To The City
  • Winin' Boy Blues
  • If You Leave Me Pretty Mama
  • Backwater Blues
  • Careless Love
  • Betty And Dupree
  • K.C. Moan
  • Gambler's Blues
  • John Henry
  • How Long
  • Bed Bug Blues
  • Yas-Yas-Yas
  • See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
  • Tell Old Bill
  • Hesitation Blues
  • Sweet Substitute
  • Disc 2:
    • Georgie And The IRT
    • Hootchy Kootchy Man
    • Dink's Song
    • River Come Down
    • Just A Closer Walk With Thee
    • Come Back Baby
    • Spike Driver's Moan
    • Standing By My Window
    • Willie The Weeper
    • Samson And Delilah
    • Cocaine Blues
    • You've Been A Good Old Wagon
    • Fixin' To Die
    • Hang Me, Oh Hang Me
    • Long John
    • Chicken Is Nice
    • He Was A Friend Of Mine
    • Motherless Children
    • Stackalee
    • Mr. Noah
    • Come Back, Baby
    • Poor Lazarus

This page was created in 0.13557815551758 seconds