If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ZM201707
  • UPC: 880956170725
  • Street Date: 08/18/17
  • PreBook Date: 07/14/17
  • Label: Zoho »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 70 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2017
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Dial & Oatts & Rich Derosa & The WDR Big Band - Rediscovered Ellington

Rediscovered, rare Duke Ellington compositions in big band arrangements, played by the WDR BIg Band, Cologne, Germany

Dial & Oatts & Rich Derosa & The WDR Big Band - Rediscovered Ellington
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: 25
  • Quantity:

Rediscovered Ellington is a rarity that comes along once every few decades, a trove of mostly unheard music by a music legend fashioned into a glimmering yet meditative production. The great Duke Ellington, for whom this album is a tribute, once observed that "there are two kinds of music", the kind that connects to the audience with sincerity and the kind that doesn't. Judging by the response of listeners worldwide, Ellington's music is of the first kind: beautiful, cultivated, resonant, and timeless. But for there to be any audience connection at all, the music must first be heard. And that's what is special about this stunner. Maestros in their own right, Garry Dial, Dick Oatts, and Rich DeRosa unearthed these compositions from obscurity, They turned musical amnesia into memorable and vivid works that bring Ellington's life and music into sharper focus not only for the seasoned Ellington diaspora but those new to his sizable repertoire. Dial, Oatts, and DeRosa shaping these compositions with colorful and immaculate arrangements, rendering Ellington afresh and anew. Prior to this recording, few of these works had a brief public life. Most were unknown to the general public. While a few of the arrangements suggest an homage to Ellington's sound, most of the works showcase how music may be given new and refreshing life while respecting the composer's essence. The album opens with Hey Baby, a mid-tempo swing number recorded in 1946 and released on RCA Victor. It's also a well-known tune from Blue Rose, the 1956 Rosemary Clooney album. It brings the virtuosity of soloists Oatts (soprano sax), Paul Heller (tenor sax), Dial (piano) and Johan Hörlen (alto sax) to the forefront, and showcases the big band's mighty brass section in multicolored shout sections. Let The Zoomers Drool, an Ellington/Johnny Hodges tune, was originally released as a live album in 1945 on the Jazz Society label. Kabir Sehgal, multiple GRAMMY winning producer.

Track Listing

  • Hey Baby
  • Let the Zoomers Drool
  • I Like Singing
  • Just A Gentle Word From You Will Do
  • Introspection
  • Kiki
  • Love Came
  • Kcor
  • I Must Be Mad

Sales Points

  • For fans of classic and contemporary large instrumental jazz ensemble recordings.
  • 'Rediscovered Ellington' is one of the most significant additions to the beloved canon of great Ellington compositions, recorded by Europe leading large jazz ensemble - The WDR Big Band from Cologne, Germany.

Press Quotes

Reedman, Dick Oatts, pianist, Gary Dial and arranger/conductor, Rich DeRosa, have embarked on a project to find and record rare and unheard music by the great Duke Ellington. This is one of the most exciting tributes to Duke that I've heard in recent years.... definitely a collector's item.

     —Dee Dee McNeil , https://musicalmemoirs.wordpress.com/

CD Review - Google Translate from Russian: Ellington is the Johann Sebastian of Jazz. Since his death, more and more jazz musicians turn to his creative heritage. His rediscovered music has been skillfully arranged for the WDR Big Band ...

     —Leonid Auskern, http://jazzquad.ru/index.pl?act=PRODUCT&id=4762


This page was created in 0.12518286705017 seconds