If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ROC-3404
  • UPC: 089353340421
  • Street Date: 01/19/18
  • PreBook Date: 12/15/17
  • Label: RockBeat Records »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 42:25 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1955
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: N.AMERICA,JAPAN,SE A
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Django Reinhardt - Essential Electric

Django Reinhardt was a jazz guitarist who became one of the first important soloists in the genre.

Django Reinhardt - Essential Electric
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Known for his Gypsy influenced acoustic guitar playing, the jazz icon plugged in occasionally and this 14 track CD compilation is dedicated to his best electrified explorations. 14 tracks including Brazil, Blues For Ike, Honeysuckle Rose, Minor Swing, September Song, Confessin' That I Love You, Insensiblement, Manoir de Mas Reves, New York City and more. Django Reinhardt had already established himself as an exceptional and innovative guitarist and regarded as one of the greatest players of all time. His influence can be heard in many genres. Even Willie Nelson has given credit to Django and his unique approach to swing music. His recordings are numerous as he was prolific. He loved to play and as often as possible. These are the best of his electric recordings. Django took a rudimentary approach by sticking a microphone in his guitar, attached to a small amplifier. What an amazing sound he achieved. No modern day guitar can duplicate the sound Django achieved during the years of 1947-1953. Seldom heard, these instrumentals stand the test of time and certainly put Django alongside Charlie Christian as yet another "Genius of the Electric Guitar." Django Reinhardt is hands down one of the most legendary guitar players in the entire history of jazz. Most noted for his Gypsy influenced acoustic guitar playing, this collection instead focuses on his lesser known electric guitar recordings including unreleased material he cut with Duke Ellington & His Orchestra in 1946. Rock Beat Records' rare offering Essential Electric gathers fourteen of Django Reinhardt's most essential electric recordings here on a single CD.

Track Listing

  • Brazil
  • Blues For Ike
  • Honeysuckle Rose
  • Blues Riff
  • Minor Swing
  • September Song
  • Topsy
  • Night and Day
  • New York City
  • Mano
  • Confessin' That I Love You
  • Insensiblement
  • Manoir de Mas Reves
  • Nuages

This page was created in 0.1355299949646 seconds