If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: EN4CD9141
  • UPC: 823564813608
  • Street Date: 05/04/18
  • PreBook Date: 03/30/18
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 314 mins
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Year of Production: 2018
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: US CA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Duke Pearson - The Classic Albums Collection

Nine Classic Duke Pearson Albums On Four Discs

Duke Pearson - The Classic Albums Collection
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

An acclaimed pianist, composer and producer, and an A&R man to boot, Duke Pearson played a crucial role in the development of the hard bop genre at the turn of the 1960s. As a musician, he led many of his own groups and played on the records of a host of jazz greats, most notably by esteemed jazz trumpeter Donald Byrd, but also those by Grant Green, Thad Jones and Pepper Adams. And although his recording career was cut tragically short - his time as bandleader lasted little over a decade - a ferocious work ethic led to the great man's legacy boasting a magnificent catalogue of albums, particularly during the early part of his career. Columbus Calvin Pearson, Jr. was born in Atlanta, Georgia on 17th August 1932. He began piano lessons from his mother Emily at the age of five, after which, struck by the youngster's talent, he was nicknamed Duke in honour of pioneering pianist and bandleader Duke Ellington. Duke became interested in brass instruments at the age of 12, ultimately taking up trumpet, which he played in various bands while studying at his hometown's Clark College. In 1953 he was conscripted into the U.S. Army, and while on service he met pianist Wynton Kelly. Kelly's influence led to Pearson taking up keyboards again, and following his discharge it would become his instrument of choice for the remainder of his career. Although often underrated and rarely given the acclaim he deserved, Duke Pearson is still a true hero of jazz and his impact and influence remain potent. This collection brings together eight of the finest albums to feature the great man's work, faithfully remastered to the highest possible standard. Culminating in over five hours of superb music, this set will not only provide the perfect starting point to one of the most important figures in modern jazz, but serves too as a welcome reminder of this musical legend's finest output.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Like Someone In Love
  • Black Coffee
  • Taboo
  • Glad There Is You
  • Gate City Blues
  • Two Mile Run
  • Witchcraft
  • Bluebird Of Happiness
  • I'm A Fool To Want You
  • I Love You
  • When Sunny Gets Blue
  • The Golden Striker
  • On Green Dolphin Street
  • 3 A.M
  • Disc 2:
    • Ghana
    • Little Boy Blue
    • Gate City
    • Lex
    • "Bo"
    • My Girl Shirl
    • Bag's Groove
    • Le Carrousel
    • Angel Eyes
    • I'm An Old Cowhand
    • Jeannine
    • Say You're Mine
    • Exodus
    • Disc 3:
      • Minor Mishap
      • Number Five
      • The Nearness Of You
      • Apothegm
      • Lex
      • Blues For Alvina
      • Time After Time
      • Hush!
      • Child's Play
      • Angel Eyes
      • Smoothie
      • Sudel
      • Friday's Child
      • Out Of This World
      • Disc 4:
        • Say You're Mine
        • Duke's Mixture
        • Each Time I Think Of You
        • The Cat Walk
        • Cute
        • Hello Bright Sunflower
        • Amanda
        • Bedouin
        • Farewell Machelle
        • Wahoo
        • ESP (Extrasensory Perception)
        • Fly Little Bird Fly

This page was created in 0.13687205314636 seconds