If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PFCD108
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 7141148051202
  • Street Date: 11/06/20
  • PreBook Date: 09/04/20
  • Label: Prima Facie »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Duncan Honeybourne - Richard Francis: Solo Piano Music (2006-2015)

Duncan Honeybourne - Richard Francis: Solo Piano Music (2006-2015)
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: 41
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Francis graduated with distinction from the Birmingham School of Music (now the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire) and studied composition with William Mathias at the University of North Wales, Bangor, where he was awarded an MMus degree. He was Organist of Ludlow Parish Church for 30 years and has given many recitals at home and abroad. Francis has developed a vibrant international profile as a composer, and is best known for his organ and choral works, many of which have been recorded to great critical acclaim. "I would gladly play or listen to any of the pieces", wrote David Saint in Organists Review of a 2-disc set of Francis's organ music recorded at Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral.

Duncan Honeybourne plays here the Piano Sonata no.2 (Irish Memories) with its references to Irish folk melodies, premiered in Christ Church Cathedral, Waterford, in 2011. The first movement evokes a Donegal storm whilst the second is a set of variations on the much-loved hymn tune Slane. The Grand Concert Variations are inventive and virtuosic, while the set of 10 More Characteristic Pieces must surely contain something for everyone, ranging from the touching Evensong to the rumbustious Seaside Jaunt!

This attractive and varied disc was recorded on a Bosendorfer piano in the Ty Cerdd studio at Cardiff Bay, in April 2019.

Track Listing

  • Piano Sonata No.2 Irish Memories (2010) Introduction: Nocturne – Sempre Adagio
  • Piano Sonata No.2 Irish Memories : Storm – Tempestuoso
  • Piano Sonata No.2 Irish Memories: Variations
  • Scherzo: Vivace Ed Animato
  • Finale – “Killiney Strand” (Air: Maggie Pickens) : Allegro Piquante
  • Grand Concert Variations On A Theme Of Greville Cooke (2015) Theme (the Hymn Tune Golden Grove )
  • Variation 1 : Fantasy
  • Variation 2 : 2 Part Invention
  • Variation 3 March 1
  • Variation 4: Canon At The Octave
  • Variation 5: In The Manner Of An Eclogue
  • Variation 6: Finale: Fugue In 3 Parts
  • More Characteristic Pieces For Piano: Folorn
  • Jack- In- A -box
  • Painted Sky
  • Scales And Arpeggios (in Modo Di Czerny)
  • Seaside Jaunt
  • Evensong
  • Folk Tune (Buckley Mug)
  • Cock-a-doodle-do
  • The Lost Garden
  • Revelry

This page was created in 0.0954749584198 seconds