If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PFCD120
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 7141148050687
  • Street Date: 09/11/20
  • PreBook Date: 08/07/20
  • Label: Prima Facie »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US,CA
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Duncan Honeybourne - The Road Less Travelled: Piano Music By Geoff Cummings Knight

Duncan Honeybourne - The Road Less Travelled: Piano Music By Geoff Cummings Knight
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: 34
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Cummings-Knight was born in Colwyn Bay and grew up in Yorkshire. He studied at Goldsmiths College, the Birmingham School of Music and Leeds University, gaining BMus and MA degrees. His numerous compositions include a cantata The Turning Year, two symphonies, chamber works, choral settings, stage works and a symphonic prelude The Infancy of Hercules. In 1986 Geoff was a finalist in the Barclaycard Composer of the Year competition and in 1998 his work was featured in the TV series Heartland FM.

His works have been widely performed and broadcast on BBC Radio 3 and his Piano Concerto, premiered in 1985 by Philip Challis and the Worthing Symphony Orchestra underJan Cervenka, received a further acclaimed performance in Birmingham's Adrian Boult Hall.

The piano works on this disc range from two of the early, vividly descriptive Russian Tableaux - composed in 1970 and broadcast by Philip Challis on BBC Radio 3 in 1984 - to the magisterial and richly-contoured Sonata in C sharp major, premiered by Duncan Honeybourne in 2011.

Honeybourne writes that Cummings-Knight's "creative road is a rewarding one and his substantial catalogue of piano music central to any consideration of it. This is a journey on which I am honoured and delighted to accompany the inquisitive and enterprising listener."

Track Listing

  • Piano Sonata No 1 In C Sharp Major; Toccata; Allegro Energico
  • Piano Sonata No 1 In C Sharp Major;Diversions On Pange Lingua
  • Russian Tableaux; Snowfall In Suzdal
  • Russian Tableaux; Kolomenskoe On A Cloudy Day
  • La Sarabanda: Three Preludes (from Book 1 Of The 24 Preludes)
  • Medici Court Dance; Piangevole, Lontano
  • Mahlerian Adagio: Adagio
  • Ballade

This page was created in 0.093816995620728 seconds