If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5013929183001
  • Street Date: 07/07/15
  • PreBook Date: 06/02/15
  • Label: GRAPEFRUIT »
  • Genre: Folk
  • Run Time: 230 mins
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Year of Production: 1972
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: US & CANADA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Dust On The Nettles: A Journey Through The British Underground Folk Scene 1967-72

With 63 tracks, Dust On The Nettles examines the metamorphosis that British folk underwent during the late 1960s

Dust On The Nettles: A Journey Through The British Underground Folk Scene 1967-72
  • List Price: $34.99  
  • Your Price: $34.99
  • In Stock: NO
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

With 63 tracks and a total running time of just under four hours, Dust On The Nettles examines the metamorphosis that British folk underwent during the late 1960s, when the influence of psychedelia and the counterculture saw the idiom being twisted into all kinds of new and exotic shapes, as the finger-in-the-ear folk clubs of yore were inexorably drawn into a brave new world of Arts Labs, free festivals and the nascent college/university circuit. Our anthology incorporates the various overlapping strands of the underground folk scene: the acid folk experimenters, the folklorists and trad song updaters, the more metaphysical element of the burgeoning singer/songwriter genre, the newly-electric folk rockers, the elemental paganism exemplified by Comus and The Wicker Man, even the early 1970s Jesus music movement that spawned the likes of the sitar-wielding Parchment. Balancing the familiar with the obscure, we feature acknowledged brand leaders like Fairport Convention, The Incredible String Band, Pentangle and Steeleye Span alongside acts who made music purely for the local communities that nurtured them: Shide & Acorn on the Isle of Wight, Folkal Point in Bristol, Music Box in Coventry, Chrissie Quayle in Cornwall. We incorporate a large number of recordings that weren't issued at the time, sample impossibly rare albums by the likes of Oberon, Dry Heart and Benjamin Delaney Lion, and feature key recordings from a number of bands who underpinned the thriving live scene of the era. Housed in a clambox featuring a lavishly illustrated and annotated 36-page booklet, the painstakingly-assembled Dust On The Nettles is surely the most comprehensive and wide-ranging anthology to appear thus far of the UK underground hippie folk movement of the late 1960s/early 1970s.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • The Pentangle - Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
  • Magnet - Willow' Song (From The Wicker Man)
  • Wight - Come All You Travellers
  • Spirogyra - Love Is A Funny Thing
  • Gary Farr - Images Of Passing Clouds
  • Synanthesia - Peek Strangely And Worried Evening
  • Bob & Carole Pegg - Glass Of Water
  • Vashti Bunyan - Winter Is Blue
  • Comus - Winter Is A Coloured Bird
  • Chrissie Quayle - The Seagulls Scream
  • Clive Palmer - Stories Of Jesus
  • Steve Peregrin Took’s Shagrat - Amanda
  • Bridget St - Curious Crystals Of Unusual Purity
  • Mark Fry - Roses For Columbus
  • Dando Shaft - Till The Morning Comes
  • Mary-Anne - Black Girl
  • Trees - The Garden Of Jane Delawney
  • Principal Edwards Magic Theatre - Weirdsong Of Breaking Through At Last
  • Oberon - Minas Tirith
  • Paper Bubble - Prisoners, Victims, Strangers, Friends
  • Disc 2:
    • Gerald Moore - Pilgrim
    • Melton Constable - River Lane
    • Moonkyte - Way Out Hermit
    • Steeleye Span - All Things Are Quite Silent
    • Heron - Upon Reflection
    • Parchment - Love Is Come Again
    • Shelagh Mcdonald - Stargazer
    • Tony Caro & John - There Are No Greater Heroes
    • Joan Armatrading - Visionary Mountains
    • Tuesday - Glow Of The Firelight
    • Warm Gold - Searching For Lambs
    • Benjamin Delaney Lion - Samantha Carol Fragments
    • Fairport Convention - Fotheringay
    • Frozen Tear - You Know What Has To Be
    • Hunt Lunt & Cunningham - Meanwhile Back In The Forest
    • The Incredible String Band - First Girl I Loved
    • The Moths - Halfdan' Daughter
    • Trader Horne - The Mutant
    • Dry Heart - Meeting By The Moonlight Mill
    • Tyrannosaurus Rex - Highways (Misty Mist)
    • Duncan Browne - Gabilan
    • Kevin Coyne - Sand All Yellow
    • Disc 3:
      • Bill Fay - Garden Song
      • C - Music Of The Ages
      • Everyone Involved - A Song For The System
      • Country Sun - The Colour Is Blue
      • Wild Country - Silent Village
      • Marc Brierley - Welcome To The Citadel
      • The Occasional Word - The Evil Venus Tree
      • Anne Briggs - Standing On The Shore
      • Agincourt - Kind Sir
      • Mick Softly - Eagle
      • Fresh Maggots - Rosemary Hill
      • Music Box - The Happy King
      • Fuchsia - Me And My Kite
      • The Sun Also Rises - Wizard Shep
      • Folkal Point - Scarborough Fair
      • Marie Celeste - Prisoner
      • Simon Finn - Patrice
      • Shide & Acorn - Girl Of The Cosmos
      • Chimera - Elegy To A Dead King
      • Beau - Silence Returns
      • Mother Nature - Orange Days And Purple Nights

This page was created in 0.26807808876038 seconds