If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ZM201505
  • UPC: 880956150529
  • Street Date: 08/14/15
  • PreBook Date: 07/10/15
  • Label: Zoho »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 50 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2014
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Edsel Gomez - Road To Udaipur

Puerto Rican pianist's exciting follow up to his 2006 GRAMMY nominated CUBIST MUSIC.

Edsel Gomez - Road To Udaipur
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: 9
  • Quantity:

It has been nine years since the accomplished pianist-composer Edsel Gómez released his Grammy-nominated Stateside debut as a leader, Cubist Music. Since then he's been busy touring and recording with Dee Dee Bridgewater, The Manhattan Transfer and others. But inspiration has been bubbling up inside the Puerto Rican-born artist, who has resided in New York City since 1997. "I met Chick Corea when I was blessed with the honor of being chosen to perform two concerts with him at the closing event of his residency at Berklee College in 1985," says Gómez. " The Corea influence can be readily heard on the lilting trio number Four Seasons and a Five which carries a brief, subtle allusion to Return To Forever's "No Mystery" from Where Have I Known You Before, and also on Spain-ished Cubes which is Gómez ' Cubist take on the Corea classic, "Spain." The Palmieri effect is in evidence on the driving, intense salsa number Search and Build as well as on the dynamic Bahia. The opening track, Tertulia Samba, is a samba version of a Gómez composition, "Tertulia," which was originally performed as an Afro-Caribbean groove. Brazil's premier electric bassist Arismar Do Espirito Santo holds down the insistent groove alongside Douglas Alonso's drums and Brazilian Roberta Valente's pandeiro work. The young Brazilian alto sax player Cassio Ferreira is also prominently featured on this energized opener. "If I had to name an overall concept for this album it would be the All Inclusive Musical Brotherhood," says Gómez. "Throughout my life in music I have been blessed to visit and reside among and be exposed to several different cultures all around the world, and have always strived to make new friends my brothers and share positive energy as I learn about the different cultures and musical traditions of every place I've ever visited, as well as sharing about my own culture and music from my homeland. -- Bill Milkowski

Track Listing

  • Tertulia Samba
  • Udaipur
  • Homesick Nostalgia
  • Search and Build
  • Ninibilo Majulolo And The Bridge
  • Four Seasons and a Five
  • Spain-Ished Cubes (For Chick Corea)
  • On Second Thoughts
  • Charles Chaplin
  • Smile On
  • Bahia
  • Brothers
  • The Chant

This page was created in 0.12419891357422 seconds