If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: TUMI251
  • UPC: 5022627015125
  • Street Date: 06/22/18
  • PreBook Date: 05/18/18
  • Label: Tumi Music »
  • Genre: Latin
  • Run Time: 54:41 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2017
  • Box Lot: 32
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Eliades Ochoa & Alejandro Almenares - Dos Gigantes De La Música Cubana

The Buena Vista Social Club, Eliades Ochoa and the master troubadour of the golden age of Trova, Alejandro Almenares

Eliades Ochoa & Alejandro Almenares - Dos Gigantes De La Música Cubana
  • List Price: $15.99  
  • Your Price: $15.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Eliades Ochoa was born on the 22nd June, 1946 in Songo la Maya, Santiago de Cuba into a musical family of singing and Tres (Cuban guitar) playing. Growing up on a farm with a musical upbringing, he began to play the guitar at six years old and since then has never forgotten his rural musical roots. In 1969, Eliades joined Septeto Ticico Oriental and a year later was officially established and accepted in the Casa de Trova to continue as a regular appearance. In 1986, Eliades and veteran singer, Compay Segundo recorded the album Chanchaneando which highlighted the famous original song, Chan Chan (by Compay). In 1986 the Buena Vista Social Club project was born. One of the youngest musicians on this recording was Eliades Ochoa with his distinctive guitar playing and vocals. After the success of the Buena Vista, all members independently were signed to different music labels and produced many new recordings. During 2015, Eliades Ochoa joined his sister Maria to record the album "Guajira mas Guajira". He says in his own words, "This is the most important project of my life!". During the same year, Eliades joined with the master trovadour, Alejandero Almenares, as a duo to record Dos Gigantes de musica Cuban. Alejandro Almenares was born on May 24, 1937, in the city of Santiago de Cuba into the humble family of Julia and Angel Sanchez Almenares. His father was the founder of "La Casa De Trova" alongside Virgil Palay and was one of the greatest troubadours in Cuba. In 1960 Almenares formed and directed "Trio oriente" and spent the next 14 years touring and playing with his band all over Cuba and beyond. He later became founder of "Las Guitarras Internacionales" together with Norberto Trujil. As he says: "I've been in so many bands that the number and names escape me ..." Now 81 years old, he lives in Santiago de Cuba and still plays on a daily basis along with Eliades Ochoa and others in the Casa De Trova.

Track Listing

  • No critiques al nene
  • El son de Vicentico
  • Pepillito
  • Te vi y te contemplé
  • Con amor te pagaré
  • Lechero
  • A tu retrato
  • Mujercita linda
  • La chica de mi rosal
  • La niña que yo amé
  • De lo que quiero saber
  • Esa guitarra que suena
  • El mismo paso
  • La finca de Vila

Sales Points

  • From 'Buena Vista Social Club' artist Eliades Ochoa. Instrumental guitar

This page was created in 0.13372683525085 seconds