If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CL080815
  • Format: CD (Reissue)
  • UPC: 888295355087
  • Street Date: 11/08/19
  • PreBook Date: 10/04/19
  • Label: Cellar Live »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 53:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2015
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD EX JP
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Erena Terakubo - A Time For Love

Erena Terakubo's domestic debut release features David Hazeltine, piano; David 'Happy' Williams, bass; Lewis Nash, drums

Erena Terakubo - A Time For Love
  • List Price: $12.99  
  • Your Price: $9.74
  • In Stock: 20
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

A Time For Love is a wonderful snapshot of this rapidly developing artist. There are many highlights on this recording. One of them is "On A Misty Night", an elegant song written by Tadd Dameron. It's a perfect composition for Erena and the group. She tips her hat to Sonny Stitt weaving dynamic lines into the fabric of the song. The solos on this tune are wonderful from everyone in this strong crew of first-rate musicians. Listen to Lewis Nash's ride cymbal throughout this track and you will understand why he is considered one of the best! The title track on A Time For Love is a superb song that brings out the best playing in everyone. I love David Hazeltine's melodic musical statement on the tune. Erena comes through with her passionate alto melting into the core of the song, grooving hard throughout. "88" is a heartfelt, upbeat song written for Yasohachi "88" Itoh. In his lifetime he produced recordings for Art Farmer, Roy Haynes, Clark Terry, Count Basie, Hank Jones, Tony Williams, Abbey Lincoln, Terumasa Hino, and many more. Yasohachi's love for jazz and ear for excellent talent moved him to record and produce Erena first three records. He surrounded her with some of the world's best jazz musicians - including Kenny Barron, Christian McBride, Jimmy Cobb, and Ron Carter - and introduced the world to Erena Terakubo in grand fashion! If A Time For Love is your introduction to Erena Terakubo, enjoy going on a musical journey. You will be moved by her skills and passionate sound. As Phil Woods said to after hearing her for the first time, "Who the hell is that?" It's Erena Terakubo! The traditions of this music are in good hands. Through her passion, creativity, and dedication, Erena has already become a world-class jazz musician.

Track Listing

  • Time After Time
  • Folklore
  • Road Song
  • A Time For Love
  • Won't Have To Say Goodbye
  • Golden Oolong Tea
  • 88
  • Soon
  • On A Misty Night
  • In A Sentimental Mood

Sales Points

  • session produced by renowned saxophonist Vincent Herring
  • A great program of originals and wonderfully arranged standards
  • features an all star New York band including Lewis Nash – drums, David Williams – bass, David Hazeltine – piano and and organ
  • first domestic release by Erena Terakubo

This page was created in 0.10025501251221 seconds