If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: LIB-5036
  • UPC: 089353503628
  • Street Date: 07/10/20
  • PreBook Date: 06/05/20
  • Label: Liberation Hall »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 41:23 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1978
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: US
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Flamin' Groovies - Now

The Flamin' Groovies played a major role in the evolution of power pop and are considered a forerunner of punk rock

  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

While it took a long and torturous five years for the Flamin' Groovies to find their way back to an American record deal with Shake Some Action, a year and a half later the band had a follow-up ready, and while 1978's Flamin' Groovies Now isn't quite as cohesive as the album that preceded it, in many respects the band sounds at once tighter and more relaxed, with some time on the road firming up the rhythm section while giving the songs a bit more room to swing (which wasn't one of the strong suits of the British Invasion bands that provided their aural template). The band lost guitarist James Ferrell during the post-Shake Some Action tour, but former Charlatans picker Mike Wilhelm proved to be a more than simpatico replacement on these sessions, and while leader Cyril Jordan didn't come up with another new song as transcendent as "Shake Some Action," "All I Wanted" comes pretty close. But it's significant that most of the songs on Flamin' Groovies Now are covers, and while all of them are played with love, enthusiasm, and the right period flair (especially the Beatles' "There's a Place," Paul Revere & the Raiders' "Ups and Downs," and "Move It," an early U.K. hit for Cliff Richard), they give the album a feeling of being padded, and just because covering the Rolling Stones rarity "Blue Turns to Grey" was a good idea didn't mean the Flamin' Groovies had any business tackling "Paint It Black." All in all, Flamin' Groovies Now is a terrific-sounding record that captures a fine band when it was in great form, but it also makes clear that the gremlins that often dogged the Groovies in the studio (namely their inability to make a 100 percent satisfying album) hadn't gone away.

Track Listing

  • Feel A Whole Lot Better
  • Between the Lines
  • Ups and Downs
  • Move It
  • Take Me Back
  • Reminiscing
  • Good Laugh Mun
  • Yeah My Baby
  • House of Blue Lights
  • Blue Turns To Grey
  • Paint It Black
  • All I Wanted
  • Don't Out Me On
  • There's A Place

Sales Points

  • The term ‘power pop’ was coined by Pete Townsend about ‘Pictures of Lily”
  • Similar to Plimsouls, Nick Lowe, Big Star, Marshall Crenshaw
  • The CD is currently offered on Amazon for over $70.
  • The Groovies are still active and touring
  • Unavailable anywhere, in any format, for at least 2 years
  • Produced by Dave Edmunds
  • The second LP released by the Groovies on Sire/Warner and fifth overall

Press Quotes

Ultimately, the reunion has spawned something truly special for fans of the band and their power-pop sound

     —Michael Snyder, Marina Times

ecstatic, breathtaking rock 'n' roll

     —Kris Needs, Zig Zag (U.K.)

We do what people love: the lead-break, the intro, the harmonies, the chorus

     —Cyril Jordan, Creampuff Magazine

The Flamin' Groovies really had more in common with the MC5, who deployed the same twin-guitar assault on white rock. Both would become regarded as forerunners of the punk rock movement,'

     —Peter Buckley, The Rough Guide To Rock


This page was created in 0.11811804771423 seconds