If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: ADDCD3437
  • UPC: 824046343729
  • Street Date: 08/05/22
  • PreBook Date: 07/01/22
  • Label: Acrobat »
  • Genre: Country
  • Run Time: 143 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2022
  • Box Lot:
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Foy Willings & The Riders Of The Purple Sage - Texas Blues: The Classic Years 1944-50

This collection offers a solid and representative overview of the key era of their career.

Foy Willings & The Riders Of The Purple Sage - Texas Blues: The Classic Years 1944-50
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: 57
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Taking their name from the landmark 1912 western novel by Zane Grey "Riders Of The Purple Sage", Foy Willing And The Riders Of The Purple Sage were a country group who combined recording and performing with appearing in a string of Western movies in the later heyday of the genre in the '40s and early '50s. Foy Willing, who hailed from Texas, landed up in California in the early '40s and became popular on radio, forming the band around the same time. With their screen commitments they did not record prolifically, but had five country hits through the second half of the 1940s. This 48-track 2-CD set comprises most of the A & B sides of their releases on the Capitol, Decca, Majestic, Varsity and Columbia labels during this era, including a release with the orchestra of Louis Prima. It features all their career chart entries including the No. 3 country hit "Texas Blues", the No. 4 hit "Have I Told You Lately That I Love You" and the No. 6 hit "Detour" along with the Top 20 hits "Anytime" and "Brush Those Tears From Your Eyes". Noted for their fine vocal harmonies, their style reflected their Hollywood outlook, with more then a hint of western swing about it, even though they recorded many songs by top Nashville writers. This collection offers a solid and representative overview of the key era of their career. They clearly had a significant influence on the west coast, their name being borrowed in the '60s psychedelic era by The New Riders Of The Purple Sage, a west coast country-rock band that was part of the genesis of Grateful Dead.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Hang Your Head In Shame
  • Texas Blues
  • No One To Cry To
  • 160 Acres
  • Address Unknown
  • Detour
  • Someone Won Your Heart Little Darlin'
  • Vout Cowboy
  • Mary Lou
  • Cool Water
  • Have I Told You Lately (That I Love You)
  • Live And Learn
  • Chained To A Memory
  • Darling What More Can I Do
  • Divorce Me C.O.D.
  • So Round, So Firm, So Fully Packed
  • No One To Cry To
  • I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now
  • Wait'll I Get My Sunshine In The Moonlight
  • Tumbling Tumbleweeds
  • Twilight On The Trail
  • Holiday For The Blues
  • Where The Cool Clear Water Spills
  • Be My Darlin'
  • Disc 2:
    • When The Sun Goes Down
    • That's What I Like About The West
    • Never Trust A Woman
    • Blue Shadows On The Trail
    • Little White House
    • I Couldn't Believe It Was True
    • Sometimes
    • Kentucky
    • I'm Waltzing With A Broken Heart
    • Any Time
    • I Had My Heart Set On You
    • You Told A Lie
    • Sometime
    • I’ll Have Somebody Else
    • Lay Your Little Head On My Shoulder
    • Just A Little Lovin’
    • Brush Those Tears From Your Eyes
    • Rose Of Old Pawnee
    • I Care No More
    • Goodbye And Good Luck
    • Riders In The Sky (A Cowboy Legend)
    • I Cried Myself To Sleep Over You
    • Stampede
    • Someone In Tennessee

This page was created in 0.098212003707886 seconds