If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 616822134825
  • Street Date: 02/23/18
  • PreBook Date: 01/19/18
  • Label: HHBTM RECORDS »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 45:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2017
  • Box Lot: 50
  • Territory: WORLD EX UK
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Fred Schneider & The Superions - The Vertical Mind

Fred Schneider of the B-52''s disco new wave post modern party album with his backing band the Superions

Fred Schneider & The Superions - The Vertical Mind
  • List Price: $13.99  
  • Your Price: $13.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Since their christmas record a couple of years back, pop dadaists Fred Schneider & The Superions have been roaming through their apartment, looking for the next party. Fred writes the words and sings the songs. Noah and Dan make the music. Blame it on the wine. Blame it on Orlando, Florida. The Superions go where no one else dares to go--into the silly, the ridiculous, the fun, the insane. Surely someone must have already written a song urging people to wake up and dance called 'Sleeping Booty'? They haven't? Sounds like a job for The Superions. Lead single 'Konichiwa' reworks 'It's A Small World' for a new century, Schneider singing hello in 12 different languages and couldn't we all use a little international friendliness. Note: it's rumored that in some school districts, listening to it for an entire hour is enough to earn a student three credits towards graduation. Song after glorious song. There's the disco frenzy of 'Glitter Gulch,' a love letter to a famous Las Vegas strip club that, in the wake of its closing this summer, is as much elegy as a tribute. Songs about foreign meatballs and songs about kissing (two songs about kissing!). Songs about airport strip searches ('punk, don't touch my junk') and songs about petting zoo stampedes. And then there's 'When The Dingoes Ate The Babies.' It all comes to an end with 'The Love That Knew No Shame', a strangely affecting tale of illicit NYC street love that's like emerging from a dream in the middle of the night. Fred's voice deepens to tell, barely joking now, how love can be found in the unlikeliest places, with the unlikeliest people. It's a tale Schneider's been telling his whole life: no matter how different you are, how strange you might be, there are other people out there like you who will accept you for who you are. Just because he delivers this message through zany humor doesn't make it any less profound. "The Vertical Mind" is timeless music, uninhibited, unaffected by trends.

Track Listing

  • The Vertical Mind
  • Konnichiwa
  • Glitter Gulch
  • Albondigas (Meatballs Ole!)
  • Sleeping Booty
  • Stampede At The Petting Zoo
  • When The Dingoes Ate The Babies
  • Passport Wallet Cellphone
  • Strip Search
  • Kiss Me To Heaven
  • (Underpants) In The Rain
  • Savage Kiss

This page was created in 0.15813994407654 seconds