If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 844185047531
  • Street Date: 12/07/10
  • PreBook Date: 11/02/10
  • Label: HACIENDA RECORDS/24 »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 132:50 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2010
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Freebass - It's A Beautiful Life

Three bassists, from New Order / Joy Division, The Smiths & The Stone Roses team with Haven vocalist for their debut LP.

Freebass - It
  • List Price: $15.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $15.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Featuring three Manchester bassists Peter Hook (Joy Division / New Order), Mani Mounfield (The Stone Roses / Primal Scream), Andy Rourke (The Smiths) and singer Gary Briggs (Haven / The Strays), 'It's A Beautiful Life' brings together the seminal Mancunian bands of the last 30 years. The expansive sound of Freebass melds & slyly re-interprets the members' individual styles and influences; an inventive cocktail of Northern Soul, Dub, Krautrock and other diverse genres. 'It's A Beautiful Life' pays homage to the past without moving backward, adapting their illustrious individual styles & decades of experience into an innovative album that varies the mood by mixing melodic songs with anthemic darker edged tunes. This CD features three tracks not on the digital release, as well as an EXCLUSIVE Bonus Disc with remixes from highly influential producer Arthur Baker & The Beatles 'HATE' producer Fritz von Runte plus an instrumental version of the band's 'Two Worlds Collide' EP.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Not Too Late
  • The Only Ones Alone
  • Lady Violence
  • World Won't Wait
  • Kill Switch pt 141
  • Stalingrad
  • Secrets And Lies
  • She Said
  • The God Machine
  • Plan B
  • Bury Me Standing
  • Sister Surrender
  • I'm A Believer
  • Disc 2:
    • Intro
    • You Don't Know This About Me (Instrumental Mix)
    • The Milky Way Is Our Playground (Instrumental Mix)
    • Dark Starr (Instrumental Mix)
    • Live Tomorrow You Go Down (Instrumental Mix)
    • Thats Life
    • You Don't Know This About Me (Fritz von Runte 33 Redesign)
    • Dark Starr (Fritz von Runte Redesign)
    • You Don't Know This About Me (Fritz von Runte Electro Design)
    • Dub Starr
    • You Don't Know This About Me (Arthur Baker Vocal Mix)
    • You Don't Know This About Me (Arthur Baker Instrumental Mix)
    • You Don't Know This About Me (Arthur Baker A Capella Mix)

Bonus Materials

  • CD features three tracks not found on the digital version, 'Bury Me Standing', 'Sister Surrender' & 'I'm A Believer'
  • US SPECIAL EDITION includes a BONUS CD comprised of three EPs: remixes from Arthur Baker, Fritz von Runte and instrumental versions of the 'Two Worlds Collide' EP
  • Von Runte's remix project The Beatles HATE, a remix of The Beatles LOVE, has had over 18 million album downloads. His collaboration with Lily Allen, the internet only album REMIXED, was the most (legally) downloaded remix of 2009

Press Quotes

The bass is brilliant and you can hear each player's signature sounds, within the low frequency warmth. It's fantastic to hear the legends rock together on this album.

     —Adam Simpson, Stereoboard

Freebass have been rattling subwoofers in the studio as they crank out their debut album. It's good to hear that unmistakable Peter Hook burble back at work; it's been a minute.

     —Tom Breihan, Pitchfork

Obviously, the focus is on the bass lines with styles moving from straight indie to dub reggae. A loosely cohesive mosaic of styles, Freebass could well surprise a few people with the release of 'It's A Beautiful Life'.

     —Robin Murray, Clash Music

Freebass recorded a handful of tracks with The Charlatans UK's Tim Burgess, The Mighty Wah's Pete Wylie and writer Howard Marks that appear on the 'Two Worlds Collide' EP. Their debut LP features Freebass's 'real' singer, Gary Briggs of Haven.

     —Sean Michaels, The Guardian


This page was created in 0.15014004707336 seconds