If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5013145212622
  • Street Date: 10/05/18
  • PreBook Date: 08/31/18
  • Label: Jungle Records »
  • Genre: Blues
  • Run Time: 1 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1979
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Geraint Watkins & The Dominators - Geraint Watkins & The Dominators

First time on CD, plus bonus unreleased sessions from the acclaimed Welsh rock'n'roll singer, songwriter and sideman

Geraint Watkins & The Dominators - Geraint Watkins & The Dominators
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

'Geraint Watkins & the Dominators' (1979) is issued on CD and digital for the very first time, together with bonus unreleased sessions, unseen pics and notes by Andy Fairweather Low. Geraint Watkins, singer, songwriter, sideman is for most an undiscovered treasure. Born in South Wales in the 50's, after art school he moved to London, joining in the 70's pub rock scene. Hearing a radio session, Andy Fairweather Low tracked Geraint down to produce an album, released on Vertigo in 1979. All bar one track were covers, although the one Geraint composition 'Deep in the Heart of Texas' swiftly became a favourite and was itself covered. Further sessions with original songs were then cut, and famed producer Glyn Johns heard the band, decided to champion them, and recorded 'The Dominators'. These comprise seven unheard bonus tracks on the CD reissue. The back-story to the album is told by Andy Fairweather Low in the sleeve-notes and narrated in a coming video. Producer Stuart Colman poached the band to back his new protégé, Shakin' Stevens. The project produced the biggest string of UK hit singles of the 80's and led to Geraint becoming the rock'n'roll piano and accordion player of choice. Over the years, he's played with artists such as Van Morrison, Dave Edmunds, Rory Gallagher, Mark Knopfler, Nick Lowe, Status Quo, Bill Wyman's Rhythm Kings, Paul McCartney, and the Dominators played alongside three of the Rolling Stones as Willy and the Poor Boys. Being in such high demand meant there was little time or opportunity for Geraint to pursue his own songwriting, but all the while he was learning from these quality acts and honing his craft. It was nearly two decades before Geraint's next album. Geraint's songs have been covered by people as diverse as Dave Edmunds, Pearl Harbour, NRBQ, Pokey Lafage and The Holmes Brothers and it is his song craft, his interpretations, instinctive feel, and engaging performances that elevate him to be an equal amongst his peers.

Track Listing

  • Man Smart Women Smarter
  • Casting My Spell
  • In the Night
  • Grow Too Old
  • Blue Moon of Kentucky
  • Gotta Find My Baby
  • Paralysed
  • Nobody
  • Deep in the Heart of Texas
  • Don't You Just Know It
  • If Walls Could Talk
  • My Baby Left Me
  • Cakewalk Into Town
  • Cowboys and Indians
  • I Don't Want to be In Love
  • Trying Times
  • Everything You Need
  • Let's Forget It
  • Not Giving It Back
  • Good Enough For You
  • Standing on a Wave

This page was created in 0.11790895462036 seconds