If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • SKU: SON0350
  • UPC: 823564814704
  • Street Date: 08/10/18
  • PreBook Date: 07/06/18
  • Label: Sonic Boom »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 83 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1970
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: US CA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Grateful Dead - Pirates Of The Deep South

Obscure 1970 Broadcast Recording

Grateful Dead - Pirates Of The Deep South
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: NO
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

The first few months of 1970 were tumultuous for the Grateful Dead. They had been all over the country, from the Fillmore East to Hawaii and back, by way of New Orleans and St. Louis. They had fired their organ player, fired their manager, hired a new road manager and recorded an album. By 8th March, they had already played 34 shows. As near as anyone can tell, the sessions for Workingman's Dead were 16 - 19th February and then 9 - 16th March, when the basic tracks were completed. What has come to be known as "the project tour" - an east coast jaunt running 17th March through 29th March - was undertaken with the aim of composing a "road song" while on the aforementioned surface. Lyricist Robert Hunter had joined the tour for this express purpose and 'Truckin'' was written while the group allegedly hung around the pool in Dania, FL, just North of Miami, where they would also perform two gigs at the unlikely venue, Pirates World, an amusement park in the city which hosted rock gigs on weekends. An obscure event and a rare recording this brief performance (by Dead standards) is also a marvelous and dynamic occasion, and a legendary one for a number of reasons. Not least of these is that it concurred with the composition of a Dead classic that remains among the band's most popular and best known songs.

Track Listing

  • Morning Dew
  • Mama Tried
  • Good Lovin'
  • Don't Ease Me In
  • Cold Rain And Snow
  • High Time
  • Dark Star
  • The Other One
  • St. Stephen
  • Drums
  • Not Fade Away
  • Turn On Your Lovelight
  • Me And My Uncle

This page was created in 0.12962985038757 seconds