If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: ATH19754LP
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 5052442004820
  • Street Date: 05/06/14
  • PreBook Date: 04/29/14
  • Label: At The Helm »
  • Genre: Country
  • Run Time: 50 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2014
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: US,CA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Hans Chew - Life & Love

Highly anticipated new album from Hans Chew, the follow up the critically acclaimed Tennessee & Other Stories

Hans Chew - Life & Love
  • List Price: $19.99  
  • Your Price: $19.99
  • In Stock: [{"available":"0"}]
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

"Life & Love" is the second album from New York City pianist, singer, songwriter and performer Hans Chew. After receiving 4-star reviews in both Rolling Stone and Uncut magazine for his debut 'Tennessee & Other Stories', Hans Chew returns with his eagerly anticipated follow up. The snapshot of a rock and roll band, 'Life & Love' was recorded live in the studio with limited overdubs to allow the listener to feel the immediate raw power of this well-oiled band. With distinct influences of British and southern American classic rock, the album's sound stands on plenty of blues, country, and soul as it bares its teeth. Conceptually, "Life & Love" isn't complex: it deals with the experience of life and the role that love plays in it. Its imagery however, betrays another reality. The listener will encounter the creation and rise of civilization, temptations of the flesh from across the railroad tracks, the cool hand of the goddess of mercy, a marriage between a nymph and the son of Zebedee, a prodigal son in goatskin cloaks, Tsars, Boyars, the ripping open of space and time, and last but not least, the Junco Partner himself. Think Led Zeppelin, Arbouretum, James Booker, Endless Boogie and you'll get where Hans is coming from.

Track Listing

  • Chango
  • Tom Hughes Town
  • Love
  • Strange Love
  • Goodnight
  • Mercy
  • The Wedding Song
  • The Supplanter's Song
  • Junker's Blues

Sales Points

  • Reviews confirmed in Uncut (with track on covermount CD), Q, Mojo, R2
  • Plays with D. Charles Speer and the Helix (US Tour Spring 2014)
  • Follow up to last years critical fave Tennessee & Other Stories
  • Ones to watch 2014 feature in Uncut between Beck and T Bone Burnett

Press Quotes

Hans Chew may well be the secret weapon ... there's a perhaps understandable comparison to be made with The Band.

     —Ned Raggett, All Music Guide

Sounds like early Elton John playing with The Faces (review of Tennessee & Other Stories)

     —Byron Coley, The Wire

Life & Love is a barn burning smoker of a record that's simply irresistible.


Certainly deserving of the plaudits Hans Chew 'Life & Love' leaves the satisfactory glow of meeting a new original.

     —Joe Whyte, Vive le Rock

Invigorating in the extreme...

     —Peter Watts, Uncut Magazine


This page was created in 0.097503900527954 seconds