If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5013145211724
  • Street Date: 09/18/15
  • PreBook Date: 08/14/15
  • Label: Jungle Records »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 60:24 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1978
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Heartbreakers - Live At Max's Volumes 1 & 2

Johnny Thunders' Heartbreakers classic live album - the original 1978 album plus the rare Vol 2 recorded 1979

Heartbreakers - Live At Max
  • List Price: $12.99  
  • Your Price: $12.99
  • In Stock: YES
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Johnny Thunders and Jerry Nolan formed the Heartbreakers out of the ashes of the New York Dolls in 1975. Gaining infamy in London touring with the Sex Pistols on the Anarchy tour of '76, they went on to produce just one album, the classic 'L.A.M.F.' in 1977.

The Heartbreakers split up When Track Records folded early in 1978. But in the fall of '78, Johnny Thunders, Billy Rath and Walter Lure found themselves in New York and decided to do a couple of gigs for 'old times sake' and some 'chump change'.

Jerry Nolan had moved on to play with The Idols and Sid Vicious, so they got together with drummer Ty Styx for some farewell gigs at Max's Kansas City. The resulting album was issued in 1979 on Max's Kansas City Records in the US and Beggars Banquet in the UK.

It sold well, so Max's Tommy Dean and Peter Crowley decided to record a Volume 2. A long weekend of shows was booked, this time with original drummer Jerry Nolan, but 'chemical imbalances' ruined all but half of the last show. Beggars turned down the tapes, and Volume 2 remained unreleased, appearing only briefly on CD in the mid-90's.

Now for the first time, both volumes are brought together on double-vinyl and single CD. The audio has been repaired and remastered by Peter Crowley.

The album comes in a gatefold sleeve and the CD with a 16-page booklet with the original artwork, together with with notes by Johnny Thunders' biographer Nina Antonia.

VOLUME 1: Intro, Milk Me, Chinese Rocks, Get Off The Phone, London, Take A Chance, One Track Mind, All By Myself, Let Go, I Love You, Can't Keep My Eyes On You, I Wanna Be Loved, Do You Love Me. VOLUME 2: All By Myself, Pirate Love, Too Much Junkie Business, Don't Mess With Cupid, So Alone.

Track Listing

  • Intro
  • Milk Me
  • Chinese Rocks
  • Get Off The Phone
  • London
  • Take A Chance
  • One Track Mind
  • All By Myself
  • Let Go
  • I Love You
  • Can't Keep My Eyes On You
  • I Wanna Be Loved
  • Do You Love Me
  • All By Myself
  • Pirate Love
  • Too Much Junkie Business
  • Don't Mess With Cupid
  • So Alone

This page was created in 0.11111497879028 seconds