If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: RTRCD003
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 875531016888
  • Street Date: 12/06/19
  • PreBook Date: 11/01/19
  • Label: Reel To Real Recordings »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 58:47 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2019
  • Box Lot: 60
  • Territory: WORLD EX JP
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Johnny Griffin & Eddie Lockjaw Davis - Ow! Live At The Penthouse

1962 Live Recordings from Seattle's Penthouse with supercharged saxophone duo of Johnny Griffin and Eddie Lockjaw Davis

Johnny Griffin & Eddie Lockjaw Davis - Ow! Live At The Penthouse
  • List Price: $16.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: 94
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.


Deluxe Package Includes Interviews with Tenor Star James Carter and Drummer Kenny Washington and Essays by Historian Ted Panken and Pianist Michael Weiss

The supercharged tenor saxophone duo of Johnny Griffin and Eddie ''Lockjaw'' Davis will be heard in full flight on Reel to Real Recordings' previously unreleased live set Ow!, which bows as an exclusive, limited edition Record Store Day LP release Nov. 29.

The title - which features stellar, previously unreleased performances captured at the Seattle club the Penthouse in May-June 1962 -- will initially be available on 180-gram vinyl mastered by Bernie Grundman, and subsequently be issued on CD Dec. 6.

Reel to Real - a partnership between Vancouver-based jazz impresario and saxophonist Cory Weeds and Resonance Records co-president and noted ''Jazz Detective'' Zev Feldman - was launched on Record Store Day 2018 with a pair of releases that included Swingin' in Seattle, live sessions by Cannonball Adderley's quintet recorded at the Penthouse in 1966-67. Resonance has previously plumbed the Penthouse's deep archives for its albums by Wes Montgomery (Smokin' in Seattle) and the Three Sounds featuring Gene Harris (Groovin' Hard).

In his notes included in the 28-page booklet that accompanies the package, Weeds recalls, ''Upon hearing the Johnny Griffin-Eddie ''Lockjaw'' Davis tapes, I got that excited feeling in my stomach again, called Zev, and said, ''We have to put this music out, whatever it takes.''

Feldman adds, ''These recordings are a gift that keeps on giving so much elation and positive vibes, which were captured with this music. It will now live on forever thanks to producer/radio legend Jim Wilke; engineer Fred Stimson, who recorded these broadcasts that were transferred from the original analog tapes; and Charlie Puzzo, Jr., son of the Penthouse's proprietor.''

Track Listing

  • Intermission Riff - Introduction By Jim Wilke
  • Blues Up and Down
  • Ow!
  • Spoken Introduction
  • Bahia
  • Spoken Introduction
  • Blue Lou
  • Second Balcony Jump
  • Spoken Outro
  • How Am I To Know'
  • Spoken Introduction
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Spoken Introduction
  • Tickle Toe
  • Intermission Riff - Outro by Jim Wilke

Bonus Materials

  • essays by Ted Panken, saxophonist James Carter, pianist Michael Weiss and drummer Kenny Washington

Sales Points

  • 28 page booklet including rare photos from Don Schlitten, Lee Tanner and Esmond Edwards
  • Interviews with saxophonist James Carter and drummer Kenny Washington
  • Remastered audio transferred directly from the original AMPEX 350 10' tapes at 7 ½ IPS
  • Newly commissioned essays by Ted Panken, and Michael Weiss
  • Official Release of Previously-Unissued Live Recordings of The Johnny Griffin / Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis Quintet

This page was created in 0.10984396934509 seconds