If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CM100819
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 875531017571
  • Street Date: 04/10/20
  • PreBook Date: 03/06/20
  • Label: Cellar Live »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 49:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2019
  • Box Lot: 150
  • Territory: WORLD EX JP
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Johnny Summers - Baker's Dozen: Celebrating Chet Baker

Johnny Summers releases his debut for Cellar Music, a swinging & soulful tribute to singer and trumpeter, Chet Baker.

Johnny Summers - Baker
  • List Price: $12.99  
  • Your Price: $12.99
  • In Stock: 1
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Trumpet player and vocalist Johnny Summers has been a mainstay in the Canadian jazz scene for years, and steps out on Cellar Music Group with ''Baker's Dozen: Celebrating Chet Baker'' his debut for the label. This swinging and soulful tribute to the music of Chet Baker features 13 of Johnny's arrangements, representing some of the songs best known from Chet in his legendary career as a singer & trumpet player. For Baker's Dozen, Johnny assembled a cast of musical cohorts who share his vision and approach for the history of these songs, while looking forward in their modern interpretations.

''I studied Chet's approach to music so intently when I was just starting out as a player some 20 years ago,'' says Summers. ''At that time I tried to copy everything - nuance, tone, and phrase. Now I just play what I feel is musical and moving in the moment. I wanted us to be free to explore the approach that Chet and his band played, from the soft and sublime, to a fiery approach that he wasn't as known for. However, I wanted myself and the musicians to be free to be ourselves in that context.''

This swinging album features a fantastic rhythm section complemented by 2 different drummers on various recordings. The special guests are numerous and in addition to them, Johnny arranged for and recorded songs featuring string quartet and the Calgary Jazz Orchestra, which he arranges and conducts.



Track Listing

  • My Funny Valentine
  • Time After Time
  • Let's Get Lost
  • It Could Happen To You
  • Embraceable You
  • You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
  • This Time The Dreams On Me
  • Like Someone In Love
  • You Go To My Head
  • Look For The Silver Lining
  • I Fall In Love To Easily
  • That Old Feeling
  • I Get Along Without You Very Well

Sales Points

  • The debut on Cellar Music Group from one of Western Canada‚Äôs most celebrated trumpet players and singers, paying tribute to the great Chet Baker.
  • features debut of four new Johnny Summers arrangements
  • Launch concerts in March set up in Edmonton, Vancouver and Calgary. Touring throughout Canada in 2020 with album band.

This page was created in 0.1033890247345 seconds