If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 5013145274422
  • Street Date: 12/08/17
  • PreBook Date: 09/29/17
  • Label: Jungle Records »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 40 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1977
  • Box Lot: 40
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers - L.A.M.F.: The Lost '77 Mixes' (Remastered)

The classic Johnny Thunders & the Heartbreakers' 1977 'L.A.M.F.' punk album remastered on its 40th Anniversary

Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers - L.A.M.F.: The Lost
  • List Price: $14.99  
  • Your Price: $14.99
  • In Stock: NO
  • Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

The Heartbreakers (Johnny Thunders, Walter Lure, Billy Rath & Jerry Nolan) were formed in 1975 out of the ashes of the New York Dolls. In 1977 they were at the centre of the London punk scene, having been invited by the Sex Pistols onto the infamous 'Anarchy Tour'. UK punks treated the US band as rock royalty because of their New York Dolls pedigree. Pistols' manager Malcolm McLaren had briefly managed the Dolls in New York.

Signing to The Who's label, Track Records, they were treated to the best recording studios in London to record their only album, 'L.A.M.F.'. But when the LP came out, there was universal criticism of the sound quality. Journalists who'd been championing the band such as Jon Savage, Julie Burchill, Nick Kent, Tony Parsons et al criticised the 'muddy mix', and drummer Jerry Nolan left the band because of it.

Both Track and the Heartbreakers ran out of money and collapsed when the album didn't sell to expectations. Manager Leee Black Childers broke into the bankrupt Track offices to retrieve the multitracks and mixes (though not the master), leading to efforts to remix the album in 1984 and finally, after Johnny and Jery's death, to recompile it in 1994.

Since then, it's been regularly acclaimed as a classic:- "That 'L.A.M.F.', the only album by Johnny Thunders' swaggering, smacked-up post New York Dolls outfit, The Heartbreakers, is one of New York punk's defining artefacts (despite being recorded in Britain), is beyond dispute. 12 songs that put the guitarist's abiding passions - Chuck Berry, The Rolling Stones, Phil Spector and Shadow Morton girl groups, glam, garage, trash and junk - in perfect, speedy collision." - Damien Love, Uncut magazine, 9/10 review.

To coincide with the album's 40th anniversary in 2017, it's been repackaged and remastered. The album comes with a 20-page booklet with the background story by Johnny Thunders' biographer Nina Antonia, and lyrics.

Track Listing

  • Born To Lose
  • Baby Talk
  • All By Myself
  • I Wanna Be Loved
  • It's Not Enough
  • Chinese Rocks
  • Get Off The Phone
  • Pirate Love
  • One Track Mind
  • I Love You
  • Goin' Steady
  • Let Go
  • Can't Keep My Eyes On You
  • Do You Love Me

Bonus Materials

  • 20-page booklet with extensive notes and lyrics

Sales Points

  • 2017 Remaster.

Press Quotes

This really is one motherfucker of an album. That's definitive. 9/10.

     —Damien Love, Uncut magazine


This page was created in 0.10474991798401 seconds