If you are having issues logging in please click here and then try again.
Lost your password?
Note only works for customers, vendors please contact us.
Close Panel
  • Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: SWC7010
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 787991701023
  • Street Date: 04/05/19
  • PreBook Date: 03/01/19
  • Label: Silverwolf Records »
  • Genre: Blues
  • Run Time: 206 mins
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Year of Production: 2009
  • Box Lot: 13
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets



Bookmark and Share



Josh White Jr - The Blues

Specially priced box featuring classics from Grammy Nominee and Blues legend Josh White Jr.

Josh White Jr - The Blues
  • List Price: $30.99  
  • Your Price: $30.99
  • In Stock: 3
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

At the age of four, Josh White Jr. made his professional debut alongside his father at the Café Society in New York City. In 1949, he co-starred with the elder White on Broadway in "How Long Til Summer?" For his work on the show, Josh White Jr. received a special Tony Award.[1]

In 1956, Josh White Jr. made his solo recording debut on Decca with "See Saw," co-written with Marvin Hamlisch. Hamlisch was a classmate of White's at the Professional Children's School along with Christopher Walken, Sandra Dee, Leslie Uggams, and Elliott Gould.[1]

In the 1960s, White became a popular attraction in the college tour circuit, while continuing to record.[1]

In 1979, he headlined at concert special for PBS and starred in a stage biography of his father a few years later.[1]

He received a Grammy nomination in 1987 for Jazz, Ballads and Blues, another tribute to his father.[1]

White continues to record. One of his most recent albums was Tuning for the Blues, a collection of folk tunes, which was released in 2011.[1]

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Gonna Live The Life
  • I Believe I'll Make a Change
  • House of The Rising Son
  • Betty & Dupree's Blues
  • Blind Man
  • Jesus Gonna Make Up My Dying Bed
  • Blood Red River Blues
  • Southern Exposure Blues
  • Hard Time Blues
  • Strange Fruit
  • Gonna Live The Life
  • One Meatball
  • Disc 2:
    • Cortelia Clark
    • Evil Hearted Man
    • One For My Baby
    • You Won't Let Me Go
    • Backwater Blues
    • Somewhere Between Right and Wrong
    • Don't Go Looking For Trouble
    • Strolling With Carol
    • No Better Greater Love
    • Close Your Eyes
    • Disc 3:
      • I've Been Down So Long
      • I Believe I'll Make a Change
      • Things About Comin' My Way
      • CC Rider
      • A Little Bit of Rain
      • Outskirts of Town
      • Blood Red River
      • Careless Love
      • Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
      • Betty & Dupree'

This page was created in 0.13531899452209 seconds